A Straightforward Ride to Évora - Poking Around Europe 7.0 - CycleBlaze

October 18, 2022

A Straightforward Ride to Évora

Outside Vidigueira to Évora

Breakfast at our Agro Turismo was amazing. With just the two of us there we didn’t know what to expect, but we were treated royally. The couple who run the place didn’t have any English, but we discovered we shared enough French to get by nicely. It was delicious, and in such a lovely setting. 

Such a nice way to start the day.
Heart 6 Comment 0

We started the ride on what I would call a country lane. It was quiet, serene and car free. It brought us around to a small town and the minor highway we would be following where we encountered an accident. 

Down a country lane.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Lots of cork trees today.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The call this area the Alentejo Plain.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Trail side company.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A lovely little town just before we hit the main road.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Oops! Fortunately we could see that the driver would have been just fine, but probably feeling a bit embarrassed. He definitely took the corner too fast.
Heart 2 Comment 0
At home this would have meant a detour for us. Here the police officer said no problem, pass on the left, but walk your bikes please. It was a tight squeeze, but we were happy to comply. We had to walk them in that little concrete ditch. This accident did mean a traffic free road for awhile.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I asked Keith how he would describe today, and he said to call it a transit day. It was easy riding, and scenic, but not spectacular.  There was one  heart stopping moment when an absolute idiot on a very fast motorcycle coming in the other direction peeled out from behind a huge semi trailer truck on the very narrow road to pass, accelerating in that way motorcycles can. He had seen Keith, and came out from behind the truck absolutely gunning it as soon as Keith was by. He didn’t leave Keith much room. But he absolutely had not seen me, so it was huge truck, motorcycle and me all side by side for a terrifying instant on one very narrow shoulderless road. He passed me so close and so screamingly fast. I honestly didn’t think there was going to be room for the three of us.  I had nowhere to go, even if I had had time to react. I was absolutely petrified and in a state of disbelief too. I focused on holding the bike steady in all the turbulence. It was a number of kilometres before I could get it out of my head. The road was so lightly traveled with hardly any trucks or motorcycles the chances of anything like that happening were slim, but there you go. Timing is everything. 

We rode by a number of vineyards and cork tree farms.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from Alvito.
Heart 1 Comment 0
We stopped in Viana do Alentejo for a cold drink. It was another charming spot.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Scott AndersonI’d be wanting a cold drink after that close shave too! I’m so thankful to know you’re alright, if shaken.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenIt made me think of Rachael and her close shave. I really wish I had had a GoPro. Not to relive it, to take to the police!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
We have these remarkable places completely to ourselves.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

You can see from the pictures it really was a lovely day. We arrived in Évora and checked in, enjoying our complimentary cocktail by the pool. It was delicious. We have been out for dinner and we are looking forward to exploring the city tomorrow, and a day off the bikes!   Then the final push to Lisbon where we are booked for three nights before we fly home. These last days are so bittersweet on any bike tour. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 4
ann and steve maher-wearyOmgosh, what a scare!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
ann and steve maher-wearyTo ann and steve maher-wearyToo close for comfort.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenWay to close for comfort. And the volume of that screaming machine is stuck in my head. It was over in an instant thank goodness.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jane KyleJane Kyle
Yikes! Glad that you made it to Evora:) We have fond memories, especially of the Praca do Giraldo, Templo de Diana and the amazing view from the cathedral tower. The highlight of the area, west of Evora was our visit to the Cromlech of the Almendres, basically a mini Stonehenge standing in the middle of a cork plantation. Stones actually pre-date Stonehenge.
Fascinating!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 1,706 km (1,059 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 8
David MathersWow, heart in throat as I read your near miss story! Timing is everything. Stay safe and enjoy the rest of your time in Portugal.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonYour encounter with the motorcycle sounded awful! It really is scary when something like that happens. It’s good you’re such a great cyclist. I had a close call in Great Britain but nothing like your experience and it took me several days to get over it. It didn’t help that I was way ahead of Scott at the time. Stay safe!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Rachael AndersonI realized last night I am not entirely over it because I kept waking up thinking about it. It happened so fast it is almost impossible to describe how fast. He came out from behind that truck full throttle. Idiot. This morning I am angry. It was so dangerous. My only consolation is I am betting he is still thinking about it too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonClose calls like that are so unnerving! Glad nothing happened and you are ok!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Kathleen ClassenHow awful! You have a right to be angry and scared! It will take awhile to get over it. Stay safe!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenTo David MathersIt was certainly the closest I have ever come to another vehicle at such screaming speed. This morning I am mad as I can be at the jerk. If I had been a small car he would be dead. He was so focused on opening it up to full throttle the second Keith went by (and he didn’t give him a lot of room) that I was invisible or didn’t matter. What really strikes me this morning is how fast it happened. It was over before I could react in any way but try and hold the bike steady. I will hear him opening up that throttle in my head for days.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Suzanne GibsonThey are so frightening but I am reminding myself this morning that I am just fine. A miss is as good as a mile.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetI can still see the place on my leg where it scraped a retaining wall when that happened to me in Italy. Motorcyclists seem to think they are invincible. So glad you're okay!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago