February 16, 2019 - To Journal or... - Some More Portugal: Not Just Kicking the Tires (Tour 18) - 2019 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

February 16, 2019

February 16, 2019 - To Journal or...

... or not to journal, that is the question.

I have bicycle-toured since my first tour of the UK in 1986. I have always kept some sort of journal or narrative of the trip. Why? It is amazing how quickly one forgets small details of even yesterday, let alone from years past. Looking over a journal some time later on is always fun and interesting. That, and just maybe, once I am gone my family might want to read about my thoughts from way back when.

Since 2003, I have placed my journals on a certain cycling blog site. I know it, am comfortable with it, and can easily add to it on the road. It has been my blog site of choice not only to write my own journals but to read other journals as well. It has become the pre-emminent cycle touring blogsite in the world.

I would not have started that discussion without mentioning that there is quite a sizeable 'but'. This issue is related to the politics of the country south of my own. Currently, that country has a very right-wing, boorish, unintelligent, and gun-friendly bully as their president. It shocks and offends me that a high percentage of that country's populace are fervent followers no matter what, though he has continually lied to them, tricked them and bad-mouthed everyone with any intelligence, decorum or integrity. What does this have to do with cycling? The creator of that blogsite has frightening paranoias, coupled with a house full of high-powered weapons, and an unwavering devotion to this same maniacal president. What was I to do? What a quandry?

I don't know. I could look the other way and just keep using that site despite my discomfort with the creator. Isn't this what too many people already do in the face of such politics? Look away and ignore?   

Well, last night at a family dinner, various world topics were discussed including my above-mentioned quandry. After our discussion last night, and during my ski outing this morning, I have decided to shift my blogging to this site instead. Interestingly, many of the members are also former members of the other site I described. Maybe there are more protesters than I thought. Awesome! After having been on the other site since early 2003, in a historical sense, I am sad to be leaving, but as already mentioned, the politics make me sick.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Steve Miller/GrampiesHi Brent, welcome to the new club. We are glad to have you with us. You will find this a very relaxed and friendly site, although smaller. It is a big plus for us to have found a nonpolitical, easygoing and inclusive community on which to blog our trips. Best of travels.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Tricia GrahamHi Brent
Like you I have really struggled with the same moral delemas as you. A superb web site that gave me all wanted.Should I continue to use it and pretend the things relating to the web master did not exist, after all it didn’t affect the way I used it. On our last tour I changed sites to this one have enjoyed using it and pleased to be using a web site which has no political overtones
Will enjoy following your journey
Tricia Graham
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonI’m so glad you’ve landed on the decision to post here Brent, and am sympathetic to the difficult deliberations you went through. I’m really looking forward o following along on this tour, esp3cially since we plan to cover some of this route later this fall. I’m sure we’ll learn something new that will help us in our planning.

Also, I’m glad to see you starting your blog this far in advance of your departure and bringing us up to speed. So much of the fun of travel is in the anticipation.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Andrea BrownWelcome, Brent. We're so glad to have you in this blog community.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago