May 3, 2017 - Lisboa: Not pedalin', so we got a steppin' - A Dabble of the Douro then Leaning to Lisbon (Tour 17) - 2017 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 3, 2017

May 3, 2017 - Lisboa: Not pedalin', so we got a steppin'

Hotel: AS Lisboa

I WAS down to pack the bikes and had it done in time for 8:00 am breakfast. After a fine breakfast in the hotel, which included bacon, eggs and beans, we picked up 24-hour metro passes and headed down to Cais da Sodre which is the port for the ferry across the estuary.

The day was spent meandering around Rossio, Commercio and Figueira squares, then all the over the mountain to the twisted streets of the Alfama. For lunch I finally tried the local specialty of sardines. Delicious roasted and fried. The small restaurant seemed like a hole in the wall type of place. Likely a local place. Sure enough, shortly after sitting down, along came a huge troupe of masons on their lunch break and filled the place to capacity. Always the case - go where the locals eat because they know. Forget the glitzy tourist places.

It was getting hot, but I did not want to return along the same route, so pulled out the tiny compass to find a general westerly route. Not that I was 'lost' because I knew where the water was, and knew to head west, but it certainly was exploring new streets and areas that eventually opened onto the Avenida de Liberdade. I remember this street from 1982 - our Hotel Roma was somewhere way up this street away from the water. In fact, had I had time, I would like to have wandered up to it for a visit for nostalgic reasons. Time lines crossing again?

Instead, I turned toward the water and headed back to Rossio Square for a sit-down with a glass of Port. Likely the final one of this tour and trip. The square was full of people so the table was in the sun, but it was still nice to sit and people-watch.

Cycling around is one thing, but walking for nine hours in the heat is quite another. By 5:00 pm I was zonked so I was of the opinion it was time to return to the hotel. There I finished packing up the rest of the gear and sealing up the bike boxes for tomorrow's flights. I was not hungry so after finally having dessert, the day was done.

Columns at the Praca do Commercio.
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Unbeknownst to some, Eiffel designed many structures including this elevator in old Lisbon. The lineups were huge for the short lift up to the lookout points.
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rossio Square from a vantage point where I snapped pics in 2015 as well as in 2003. I just had to re-live these moments!
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rossio Square AP (artsy photo).
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Views as we walked up toward st George's Castle.
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
With evidence of their popularity everywhere, I just HAD to have sardines. The restaurant was a little hole-in-wall type place heavily frequented by locals and hardly any tourists. This travel tip worked beautifully - the sardines were delicious.
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Alfama district signs for Fado music were ever-present.
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
These traditional trams make light work of the steep hills of the city. Their photos turn out well, too.
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Avenida de Liberdade is more beautiful than I remember it from 1982 when our family came here when I was a teen. Fond memories. Nostalgia at its best.
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
The farewell glasses of Port. There are a number of little bars around Rossio Square - I have been to this one before as the tables have great views of the whole square.
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0