Rest day in Angouleme - Poitou and the Atlantic Isles - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2016

Rest day in Angouleme

Well, what does one do on a rest day? One rests, duh! So I slept in late, ate a biggish breakfast, lolled around the hotel, caught up some on this journal, and went for a walk about town, getting lost several times. Then I took a nap. Nothing spectacular, but that goes with the spirit of Angouleme. The city is reasonably clean, and appears reasonably prosperous, but there is nothing much of note about it. I bought a pair of shorts in a department store so I could have something to,wear when I washed the ones I had been wearing. Ordinary store, ordinary shorts, ordinary day.

An art nouveau building in Angouleme. I like art nouveau, but this was the only example I saw in the city.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A statue of assassinated French president Sadi Carnot, who,was born in the Charente near Angouleme.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the ramparts of Angouleme
Heart 0 Comment 0
Angouleme hosts an annual,comics convention. This character is on the entrance to the railway station. Comics have a much higher respect in France than in the USA. Many comic albums (hard cover!) are for adults and enjoy huge popularity.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0