Day 6: Rest Day - Steel City to Cow Town 2014 - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2014

Day 6: Rest Day

For this tour my plan is to ride 5 days, then take a rest day. Today is a scheduled rest day at Econolodge in LaVale, Maryland. I spent most of the time indoors even though the weather was warmer and sunnier than the previous 3 days.

A shopping mall is up a hill behind the motel, but mostly I just rested and napped in the room. I didn't feel particularly exhausted when I arrived last night, but today I feel like I need a rest day to prevent chronic exhaustion.

From here my plan is to go southwest through the Allegheny mountains. I just obtained Virginia and West Virginia maps yesterday evening. Studying the maps and Google, it seems that my planned route on West Virginia highway 28 has no motels for 150 miles. I can't go that way. Instead I will go on the next highway further east, US 220. That puts me into Virginia a couple days earlier than planned. Now I will spend only 2 days and 1 night in West Virginia.

US 220 doesn't climb as high, but it still looks like a no-traffic "road to nowhere". Towns are few and small. Few cross roads because of steep mountain ridges on both sides.

0 miles cycling today. The bike stayed in the room.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0