Day 29: To Willow Springs, Rest Day - Steel City to Cow Town 2014 - CycleBlaze

October 7, 2014

Day 29: To Willow Springs, Rest Day

Overnight was a violent thunderstorm from 1:15 to 3:15 AM. Constant heavy rain, thunder, lightning, and a bit of hail.

I'm exhausted and don't have the energy to do much today. I will ride 15 miles to Willow Springs and get a motel and sleep all afternoon.

I got up at 8:30 and went across the street to have breakfast at the only cafe in town. At least Mountain View has a mom and pop cafe. Kentucky had only fast food chains.

US 60 again.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's route is all on US 60. Well graded, but still hilly with a headwind. I'm was so tired that I used the lowest gear on 3% grades.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived in Willow Springs at 11:45 AM. The only motel in town is an expensive Comfort Inn. I got a $95 room and slept from noon to 5 PM, then had dinner at the barbeque/Italian restaurant next door. The actual town is a mile farther west.

My room faces US 60 and I can hear the trucks through the window. But it was otherwise an excellent room. Spacious, clean, with nice furnishings.

Today was mostly sunny and warmer, high of about 80F. But I wasn't out much in the afternoon.

Distance: 15.2 mi. (24 km)
Climbing: 671 ft. (203 m)
Average Speed: 8.3 mph (13.3 km/h)

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 1,469 miles (2,364 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0