Day 24: Rest Day - Steel City to Cow Town 2014 - CycleBlaze

October 2, 2014

Day 24: Rest Day

Today is a rest day in Vienna, Illinois. Late in the morning pedaled 1.5 miles west to downtown to wash all my clothes at the laundromat. While there I took pictures around the courthouse plaza.

County courthouse in Vienna, Illinois.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sleepy Vienna courthouse plaza.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Vienna is a typical midwestern rural county seat town. Population only 1450, so it's pretty sleepy. Businesses are about evenly split between town and the strip at the I-57 exit outside of town.

I'm definitely in the Midwest now because I saw my first Casey's General Store.

It was a hot and humid day. I took a long nap in the afternoon. A big thunderstorm started at 6 PM as I was walking to a Mexican restaurant. It poured for several hours, with the usual lightning and gusty wind.

Thunderstorms like this make me glad I'm not camping!

Distance: 3.9 mi. (6.2 km)

Today's ride: 4 miles (6 km)
Total: 1,189 miles (1,914 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0