Day 22: To Marion - Steel City to Cow Town 2014 - CycleBlaze

September 30, 2014

Day 22: To Marion

On the road at 8:30 as usual. I followed the KY 70 signs through Central City. Then through the rolling hills to the prosperous and sprawling town of Madisonville.

The log house seems to be occupied. Christmas decorations on Sept. 30.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had an early lunch at a Chinese Buffet. The curry chicken dish really cheered me up. Something different than fast food and Mexican food. I also had a nice conversation with the cashier there. One of the few people in Kentucky who wanted to know about my bike tour.

Madisonville, KY is a bit more prosperous than Appalachia.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After lunch the hills became gradually smaller as I progressed west to Providence. Mostly farms, but also a couple of big coal mines.

I think of coal country being mostly in eastern Kentucky. But this part of western Kentucky has several big coal mines. It seems to be a major employer, but employment declines over time as equipment gets more automated.

This conveyor connects a coal mine to a railroad.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The conveyor crosses a road and railroad, then drops coal into giant pile that gets loaded into rail cars.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped to look around the town of Providence. It's not doing well. Most of downtown is vacant.

Coal miner statue in Providence, KY.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sleepy downtown Providence, KY.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then more small hills and one much larger hill as I approached Marion. For once, there wasn't much rush hour traffic as I approached Marion.

The terrain gets flatter and less forested in western Kentucky. But the rumble strip persists.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The last several miles to Marion is on KY 120 which is an old-style highway that follows the contour of the land and has a grass shoulder. But always a rumble strip on the edge of the pavement.

Today I saw mostly Missionary Baptist churches. But also 7th Day Adventist, Jehovah's Witness, Methodist, and Cumberland Presbyterian churches. And a huge Pentecostal church in Madisonville.

I'm seeing fewer election campaign signs now, but many pro-coal signs.

Drivers are more aggressive now because the terrain is more conducive to fast driving.

Today had a high in the mid 80's with noticeably lower humidity. Fairly warm for the last day of September.

KY 120 has no fog line but still has a rumble strip. Very little traffic.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Marion is very depressed town. Still another dreary Bible belt town in a dry county. I got a motel at the only motel in town. $80 at Royal Inn, which was decidedly not royal. I told the manager that it looked like a $50 room.

This is my last night in Kentucky. I'm looking forward to leaving Kentucky.

Distance: 68.7 mi. (110 km)
Climbing: 2842 ft. (865 m)
Average Speed: 11.7 mph (18.7 km/h)

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 1,120 miles (1,802 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltFunny you told the hotel manager that his $80 room at the Royal Inn looked like a $50 room! :) :)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago