Day 24: McPherson to Emporia - Peter across the US 2023 - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2023

Day 24: McPherson to Emporia

Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a lovely bright morning as we assembled. Many of us had had our bikes safety checked last night as we neared halfway through the tour and we were all looking forward to a rest day tomorrow. By the end of the day we’d have ridden 710 miles in the last nine days.

I decided on a steady, economical ride with Stephanie and the first 29 miles were just like that. We pulled turns from time to time and rode side by side where we could. There was an appreciable crosswind, but nothing to hamper progress too much. The landscape was more rolling than in previous days. Enough to add interest without forcing us onto the small ring.

At best the surfaces were excellent. At worst they were some of the nastiest we’d encountered. For a long way the rumble strips extended right across the hard shoulder and were very pronounced. In other places the road comprised large concrete squares with wide cracks within or between them, forming large deep triangular holes at the corners in the most extreme situations.

I faffed about at the first SAG, leaving Stephanie to ride ahead. I rode on my own, passing members of the 7 o’clock club.

I faffed again at the second SAG, especially as I’d felt a bit hypo five miles out. I’d had a gel, which I’d managed to get everywhere, so washed my hands and the bike, had a Subway and put sun cream on before a gentle ride home.

Everything is intensely green now, like May in Devon, except on a huge scale. There were a couple of times where we came over a rise to vistas so verdant and so well tended I mistook them for golf courses. The fields roll, but only gently compared to the UK. The buildings are also iconic farm structures, familiar from movies.

An iced coffee and milkshake gave me enough energy to clean my bike ahead of the rest day.

The pictures show what I found. A crack going 75% round the down tube, near the weld to the headtube. Peyton can flex the frame so the crack gets wider. He had the bike on a stand twice last night; once for a routine safety check and again to find a clicking sound I’d heard. He’s certain it wasn’t there then. I’m sure this happened today.

We tried both bike stores in town, which were closed for Memorial Day. Will try again tomorrow.  A bit distraught.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Hugh MonroNasty looking crack but glad you’ve got a replacement bike
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Today's ride: 81 miles (130 km)
Total: 1,674 miles (2,694 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Pete FrostSorry to hear about your bike problem Peter! Hope you get it sorted in some way🙏
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Kevin JohnsPete .
At last I have been able to connect to view your mammoth adventure . It’s quite a read trying to take in all the information, and I feel knackered just reading all your posts. Never mind cycling them !
More than anything, I hope you are enjoying your challenge, and looking at the bike frame in todays post , it just got that bit tougher.
Hope you manage to get it sorted soon,
Keep fuelled up , look after yourself , and enjoy the second half .
Kevin
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Steve ParkerGutted for you.
Just read this post. Not good internet recently. Hoping your next post brings some good news!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago