Day 23: Great Bend to McPherson - Peter across the US 2023 - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2023

Day 23: Great Bend to McPherson

Heart 0 Comment 0

Saw my first MAGA cap in the diner at breakfast. The people do not have great prospects round here. Many live in small metal-clad buildings and there are multiple signs of low SES, including obesity and fewer teeth. It’s a shame they’d put their faith in someone who is unlikely to help them.

This was an odd ride. I’m feeling like I need a rest after 9 consecutive days on the road, especially as I was infected with motorway madness yesterday, due to close contact with Simon, Doug and Dave. Apart from legs feeling weedier than usual, the repeated routine of getting up, packing, cycling, laundry, eating to excess and sleeping is a bit like working for a living.

Despite my best intentions I stuck with S, D & D for about 15 miles today, until they smelt blood, catching up with the 7 o’clock club. As soon as they saw the stragglers in the distance they went up a gear. I decided to enjoy the ride instead.

That meant I rode the last 45 miles on my own. A strong southerly (SSE to be precise, against our due east route) hampered progress, but it was flat and staying on the drops allowed economical progress. There are more and more trees now (occasional hedgerows and copses up to 20ft tall) which give you an extra mile per hour by protecting you from the wind.

An excellent road again, like a single carriageway A road at home, but with that nice smooth hard shoulder and very light traffic.  Most of the traffic was pick-ups on a Sunday morning.

The SAG was exactly half way, in the parking lot of a Dairy Queen (fortunately closed). A banana and a chocolate marshmallow biscuit later I was back on the route and rode steadily on my own till five miles from home, when I was passed by Doug.

McPherson has a single older (Main) street surrounded by a couple of miles of spread out homes. The principle roads are lined mostly with fast food joints in parking lots. Our hotel was 2 miles beyond Main Street, so by the time we were here (11.30) all I could face was Braum’s chicken salad and milkshakes.

Applebee’s tonight.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Arriving at SAG
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 1,593 miles (2,564 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0