Silver Springs to Williston to Rainbow Springs - Rose Pedals in Florida - CycleBlaze

December 10, 2021

Silver Springs to Williston to Rainbow Springs

A zero day, kind of...

I awoke after a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed. We grabbed the complementary breakfast downstairs and contemplated our routing through Ocala.

There was a stop that I needed to make for a repair at one of my clients house in Williston. Having lived in the area, I was pondering our safest options to get there via bikes. After researching trails, backroads and google bike routes I came to the conclusion there was not a safe way to bike from Silver Springs to Williston.

I talked over all the options with Matt. We decided to call a friend of mine to give us a lift. There was a moderate possibility he couldn't do it, but he would try.  So we packed up our bikes and gear. I was researching a more southern route that missed our destination by 15 miles, when I got the text from my friend Chris. OMW. Cool beans! He arrived within a half hour. We loaded up our bikes in the back of the Ford and headed to Williston. 

We stopped for pizza at the "diego joint". Then headed to my clients house to do the repair.  Matt helped me diagnose the issue and we were back on our way to Rainbow Springs shortly.

We thanked Chris for his kindness and the ride. We unloaded the bikes and began to set up camp at our site.

Note that if you haven't reserved the site specifically for hammocks at Rainbow Springs State Park you cannot hang your hammocks. Bummer. Tent camping it is. 

Rainbow Springs campground fills up fast. The water is amazing and refreshing.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We changed clothes and rolled to the river.  A splash in the cool clear water was refreshing. We floated along as the sun was setting, talking and counting our blessings. We were both thankful for the ride, the day and how it all worked out.

Back at camp, we grabbed showers, did laundry and called it good for the day.

Tomorrow would be a new adventure.

Today's ride: 1 mile (2 km)
Total: 264 miles (425 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0