Juniper Springs to Silver Springs - Rose Pedals in Florida - CycleBlaze

December 9, 2021

Juniper Springs to Silver Springs

A sweet find!

A pleasant morning started off right with coffee. I was still adjusting back to sleeping in my tent when Matt brought me a much appreciated sippy cup of coffee.

We packed up our gear and headed out for a short ride to Silver Springs Holiday Inn. We split the cost of the hotel for a certainly needed a good night's rest that evening.

Along US 40, we stopped for a pic of the Ocala National Forest sign.  Just as we got on the road, Matt spotted a weathered $50 bill next to the stop sign. Sweet road find!

Matt is back in the Ocala National Forest! He hiked the Florida Trail in 2017. 🌅
Heart 2 Comment 0
Somedays I wish I had eagle eyes like him. Lol
Heart 3 Comment 0

We got back on US 40 and followed our noses to Kerr's Family Kitchen. We made a U turn and dropped in for a late breakfast. Matt had his standard biscuits and gravy and I had the mash and trash.

Both quite delicious and enjoyed!

Kerr's Bisquits and Gravy
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mash and trash at Kerr's Family Kitchen in Silver Springs, Florida
Heart 1 Comment 0

Feeling full, we got back on our bikes. Google sent us through more of the beautiful Ocala National Forest.  We found our way to the hotel. All hot and sweaty, we were glad to be in the air conditioning. It was getting to be a hot day.

We decided to grab showers and decided to walk to dinner at Fat Boys BBQ.

I have to admit, I can get lost even with Google walking directions. Lol. Matt and I didn't need the extra steps today, but he took it graciously when I took us in the wrong direction to the restaurant. I am sure I wasn't the only one starving. When we finally arrived, we were seated by a little girl who quickly got our drink order together. We ordered ribs which were excellent.

Note that I am at dinner with the one of the most kind gentlemen I have ever had the pleasure to be around. When he paid the bill, he made sure the little girl got a tip as well.  She was an attentive helper. 

As we walked back to the hotel, Matt noticed we weren't in the best area. Alot of random people on the sidewalk and parking lots. He pulled me close when we would pass them which in turn made me feel safe. If I were walking alone, I would have straightened up my posture and had my woman with a purpose walk on. At 5'11 and pretty strong, I'd steer clear of me.  It was a good feeling that Matt had my back.

We arrived safely back at the hotel. We were full from dinner and close to a food coma. The comfortable beds was calling our names. 

As I was counting my blessings, I fell fast asleep.

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 289 miles (465 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0