Faver-Dykes State Park to Lake George, Florida - Rose Pedals in Florida - CycleBlaze

December 7, 2021

Faver-Dykes State Park to Lake George, Florida

I awoke from my restful sleep in the hammock to heavy fog setting in. Matt and I had coffee and packed up our wet gear.

Today was going to be a long day, but worth it at the end of the day.

I need to hide this in my heart.
Heart 0 Comment 0

With loaded bikes, we made our way out of the foggy wilderness and back to the pavement. We stopped at the convenience store for OJ for a protein drink and water resupply. 

We toodled cautiously down US 1 into a headwind on 304 and 305. We still managed to smile through it though. We were passing by a few Flagler businesses, cattle and crops when I remembered that one of my best friends and her family grew up in nearby Seville. As we pedaled along, I thought of her upbringing on her Daddy's farm in the small town of Seville. She is a small town farm girl who loved her Daddy and Momma and all they did for their family.

Matt and I stopped at the Seville convenience store. Hoping for bacon, finding none. Lol.  We did resupply on eggs, water, tortillas and split a soda. Only a few more miles to go to Lake George.

Seville, Florida US 17 corner convenience store.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The google cycling directions got us to our destination in time for dinner on the dock, showers and amazing sunsets. We aired out our wet gear along with starting a load of much needed laundry.

Chicken avocado caesar wraps.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We sat on the deck enjoying dinner as the sun sank lower on Lake George.  Can you say cue the sunset? What an amazing spot for the night. Accommodations were a yurt on the deck overlooking Lake George. We had access to electricity, hot water,  refrigerator, bathroom, outdoor shower and washer/dryer.

End destination for a couple of weary cyclists.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Alligators and snakes oh my!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bananas anyone?
Heart 0 Comment 0
100%
Heart 3 Comment 2
Rose Craig-KinnonTo Scott AndersonRight!! What and epic end to a great day!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Absolutely
Heart 2 Comment 0
Breathtaking.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I couldn't think of anyone I'd rather be sitting on the dock watching the sun go down than with Matt.  What a great way to the end of our long day in the saddle.

Did I mention how much I love to start my day off with God's awesome sunrises and finishing it off with great sunsets and happiness?
Heart 1 Comment 0
My happiness.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Soon the stars appeared in the sky and my pillow was calling my name. 

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 367 miles (591 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0