Dunedin to Largo, Florida - Rose Pedals in Florida - CycleBlaze

December 14, 2021 to December 16, 2021

Dunedin to Largo, Florida

Rest days

Finally a day of rest!! Lol. The last 11 days cycling with Matt has been the best ever!

We eased into our rest day with breakfast at the hotel. Waffles with unicorn sprinkles, biscuits and gravy, eggs and such. 
Well rested we decided to take a bike ride to Honeymoon Island State Park and hop on the ferry to Caladesi Island for the day.

Honeymoon island, Dunedin, Florida
Heart 3 Comment 0
A little stretching.
Heart 2 Comment 0

This would be our second ferry ride on this trip. Once we got on the island, we found a tandem kayak to rent on the shoreline. Laughing at the new experience together, we jumped in and paddled away from the shoreline.
The wind and waves took us closer to shore and we decided to land and explore.

Matt was first to disembark, but not before a wave splashed him as he was exiting the kayak. He cracked a joke that had me laughing so hard, I had tears in my eyes and almost peed my pants. I remained in the kayak and tried to gain my composure from laughing so hard. In the midst of my laughing, I heard him say his phone got submerged in the ziploc. Oh no. I got splashed as well, but not like Matt. His phone was still working thankfully.

We walked the shoreline, laughing as we collected shells. Eventually we got back into the kayak and had a much easier time going the other direction. We landed with more ease than the first time and returned the kayak. My face and sides hurt from laughing so much. Great times together!

We found a swing facing the marina and waited for the ferry to return.

There were a group of volunteers rebuilding a booth at the marina. As we watched them work, a small yacht came to dock at the marina. Matt and I discussed dreams about sailboats and such. It costs $24 to stay overnight at Caladesi island, in your own boat. Sorry no kayaks lol.

Soon it was time to board and head back to the mainland. We landed back on Honeymoon Island and rolled to Dunedin.

Our beautiful rest day came to a close after running errands then having a small dinner close by at a Mexican food restaurant. We walked back to the hotel after we made one more stop at the local drug store for a few snacks and resupply of essentials.

The next day, Matt and I packed our gear and headed toward Largo, Florida.
He made a last minute stop at the store for a few more essential items then hopped on the Pinellas Trail.
As we toodled south toward downtown Dunedin, I glanced down at my handlebar grab bag and burst out in laughter! Matt had secretly bought a pink unicorn stuffy and put her in my bag! 
He had been telling me for a week that I was his unicorn....this amazing woman that checks all his boxes. He jokes he has alot of boxes, so I just laugh and smile at him lightheartedly all the while wondering about the details of all those boxes.

Meet our unicorn Rosie Sparkle Farts
Heart 2 Comment 0

Pedaling along as we were enjoying the day, we came upon a small orchestra playing in downtown Dunedin. We stopped for a gelato and enjoyed the moment. Soon we were back on our bikes enjoying each other's company and the peacefulness of the trail. 

It was a short day to Largo. We rolled into the Hampton Inn early afternoon. The front desk clerk, Eileen was interested in our loaded bikes and where we were heading. We smiled big and shared with her a short version of the past two weeks. She was just blown away. As we got up to our room, I shared with Matt that she is a great example of a Go Giver, a book I had read last year.  Her genuineness, kindness and helpfulness is a real asset at this Hampton Inn in Largo, Florida.

In the past few days, we decided to change our plans on where to store our bikes while we are gone to see our families for the holidays. Originally, it was with a friend in Tampa, but we changed it to a storage unit in Largo. If you are on tour and need to leave your bike for a bit in a pinch, try a local storage facility. It literally cost us $42 for 30 days. We rode down to the unit, did the paperwork, placed our gear and bikes in for safe keeping, locked it up and walked away.

We were flying out the next day. Matt was departing from St Pete arriving in Maryland and I was departing from Tampa arriving in Phoenix. Our adventures in Florida would be paused for a few weeks and reconvening on December 30th.

As the days and miles flew by cycling Florida with Matt, I took some time to reflect on all the blessings, challenges and loss during my last 11 years in Florida.

One recent night, I shared with Matt my heartfelt thoughts and feelings. As a few memories fell from my eyes, I told him I think the three the most important men in my life (my Savior Jesus, my husband Rich and my favorite bike mechanic Gonzo) got together in the heavens and gave their input to God concerning who to do this life on adventure with and He sent me him. Matt shared with me his thoughts and feelings as he held me in his arms.
It has been a beautiful ride. I am blessed and beyond excited to see what He has in mind!

I will be missing Matt something fierce while I am in Arizona with my family.

Until then, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

Today's ride: 11 miles (18 km)
Total: 143 miles (230 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWow!! I’m so happy for both of you. Enjoy the holidays and I look forward to following your continued journey on your bikes and in life.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rose Craig-KinnonThank you Rachael! We are super excited to be on adventure together!
Matt also has a blog.
https://acrossthemapwithmatt.com/
Reply to this comment
2 years ago