Tue 6th Dec: Rest Day Calafate. - JP McCraicken With The News - CycleBlaze

December 18, 2016

Tue 6th Dec: Rest Day Calafate.

I am having a rest day, one before the long ride north. I've made a shopping list and went to La Anomina to stock up for the 330km stretch up to Gobernado Gregores. The next La Anomina where I can stock up for the further long stretch beyond.

There are no cyclists on the campsite at the moment, though I've been kept company by the Australian motorcyclists at the tent next to mine. She without the thick riding clothes, a small athletic woman was doing joga: handstands and all kinds of stretches and contorsions of the body, while he packs for an early start in the morning. He tells me that on a previous occasion he cycle toured in Patagonia, and relates how hard it was with the wind7 and the long distances. So decided this time he'd do it on a motorbike.

I keep worrying about my tyres not lasting the remaining duration of the tour. In the bike shop this afternoon, they've got mountain bike 29er tyres, which would be useful as they fit on the 700c rims of my Dawes. But, while the Dawes has the clearance to accommodate the width of a mountain bike tyre, it doesn't have the extra dept clearance for a 29er tyre.

As I write I'm giving the local microbrewy a try. I've finished one Scotch Ale. I think I'll have another before returning to cook dinner.

Well, in the morning I'm hoping for an early start.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0