Thu 13th Oct: Junin de los Andes - JP McCraicken With The News - CycleBlaze

October 13, 2016

Thu 13th Oct: Junin de los Andes

Banduria
Heart 0 Comment 0

How I could have instigated a major battle today. My fury had reached fever pitch. A new high, against Microsoft Windows. The geeks at work behind the scenes of my computer screen.

But I realise they are not people. Not real people, at any rate. They're anonymous.

The day was going fine. I was up early. I'd already decided to remain another day here in Junin..., to get my news program script written. You know what I'm on about. This new, great idea about keeping a brief journal, intending to write more indept daily journal instalments post tour, while in the present, keep people at home informed of where I am and that all is alright.

Well, it was all go and going well until midday, when Windows' decide to restart the computer, not only restart, but keep it out of action all afternoon while updating the software, just when I wanted to finish. Have it done and dusted.

I go away and have lunch, remaining calm. Thinking all will be well when I return an hour later. But no, the updating icon is still spinning. An hour later it is still spinning. Spinning without any sign of ever finishing. So I have had enough and disconnect the power, intending to restart the computer.

It was when I switch the power back on that the screen blinks for a second, then goes dark, showing little sign of life. I repeatedly switch it on six seven times, but no joy. The same happens; it blinks before going dark. The computer seems to have died.

I take myself off out to an internet locutor. Luckily the school boys in there playing computer-games are behaving themselves, as I am in no mood for distraction by them screaming across the shop to each other.

Two and a half hours pass typing, running up a bill of 33 pesos, but I get it finished.

Townhall
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the most distinctive landmarks.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Later back at the hostel a Spanish cyclist checks in. We chat for over an hour, mostly shop, exchanging details of the road. Then, there's a moments silences until I open the subject of my day with "My computer died today."

He instantly replies "Oh. I fix computers"

So he asks me to go and get it. And sure enough when I return and let him see, he starts the computer up in seconds, having started up a recovery program.

The other great event forgotten because of the computer crisis, was sorting out my camera memory card problem, by buying a new card, but that was a small thing.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rio Chimehuin.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A bit grainy but..
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0