Sun 23th Oct: El Bolson, day 2 - JP McCraicken With The News - CycleBlaze

October 23, 2016

Sun 23th Oct: El Bolson, day 2

Today I needed to fit a new chain. Not a big operation, except I don't like doing it before heading off to a remote area with the bike heavily laden with three days of provisions. And, with a steep hill out of town. I fear a sudden give and the chain snapping.

I've only ever had the chain snap on me once when riding up a one in four incline in the North of England. Although easily fixed, I have a fear of it happening again.

In any event, I always like to test the bike out without panniers after fitting a new chain by riding up a steep incline, so I've checked in for a third night at the hostel. And having been in El Bolson a few times before, I know where there's a really steep climb that I can include in a ride out and back to town.

Rocky ledge above Rio Azul valley to the west of El Bolson.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rio Azul.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I start off from the hostel riding along quiet back streets, across the main through route to the beginning of a dusty unpaved road that climbs the wooded hills to the west of town. One thing instantly noticeable is the crisper gear change and smoother running of the new chain. The road eventually levels out upon a ridge with a ledge to the left and cliff down to pine clad slope dropping into the wooded valley below where Rio Azul snakes through the middle, south toward snowcapped mountains.

Well, this was far enough, taking in the view and a little further is the rock face called "Cabeza de Indio"

Cabeza de Indio. The Indian face rock.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a day too to reflect upon the road immediately ahead.

I was for heading south east to the Chubut Valley, to a place with a great rock formation called "Piedra Parada", The Standing Rock. But I'm thinking it's a big detour just to see a rock formation.

I was then thinking of the border crossing to Chile via Lago Puelo, just south of where I am now, above looking down on Rio Azul. But back at the hostel, I had a look at James Balls' journal, it looks fairly complicated with a lake to be ferried across. So the only way left is directly south to the national park "Los Alerces", for the second time, having been that way last December.

It having been a warm sunny morning, the afternoon sees thunder and lightening followed by heavy rain turning the street into a river. It's well I made it back in time. I'll be good tomorrow, I know.

This evening as I write, I'm back in a bar for happy hour. Two pints of artisan beer for the price of one. It's just hard to chose between the many find beers on offer.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0