Sun 18th Sep: Chilecito to 47km < Villa Union - JP McCraicken With The News - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2016

Sun 18th Sep: Chilecito to 47km < Villa Union

Seeing the Frenchman head off yesterday down route 40, got me to thinking about my own route. I was for continuing in a general south-east direction toward the Cordoba hills, but that means a long empty stretch of dead straight road heading toward a flat horizon kind of itinarery. The outcome of me not wanting to do this is that instead, like the French cyclist, I'll continue on route 40, a road that keeps the Andes within sight.

I'd stocked up at the supermercado yesterday, resulting in an extremely heavy bike to get downstairs from the hotel reception to the street. I don't know what all I carry. Basically, I'm in part of the world where, while it may be a pleasant sunny morning, I'm in shorts and tee-shirt, it can suddenly become cloudy and cold, so I carry fleece and down-jacket, general winter clothes, that are invalueble on freezing cold mornings. As well as my heavy warm sleeping-bag. Another two kilo's weight.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Southbound route 40 continues for 18 kilometres south of town to a right turn, where it leaves the main road to Cordoba and strikes off west toward hills. It's a ever so gradual uphill gradient, a treadmill up across thorny plain until eventually reaching the hills, whereupon there's a small village with a large area of tall elm tree windbreaks enclosing irrigated fields of orchard and vine cultivation.

Beyond this green oasis the road enters an arid valley of soft red rock dotted with verdant green scrubs and dwarf trees, where shortly a steeper climb begins.

Quebrada Miranda
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
View back nearing "Questa de Miranda" the high overpass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View down the other side.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I camped in exactly the same spot Id camped passing this way in 2011.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0