Sat 5th Nov: Alto Rio Senguer, rest day in tent due to strong wind - JP McCraicken With The News - CycleBlaze

November 5, 2016

Sat 5th Nov: Alto Rio Senguer, rest day in tent due to strong wind

Good shelter on the riverbank at Alto Rio Senguer.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The noise the wind is making, is comparably to a stormy sea crashing on a rocky shore; with waves rolling in, periodically punctuated by the roll of one huge wave, bigger and louder than the rest. Likewise, the roar of the wind sweeping through the trees that I wake up to this morning, with now and again one real strong gust, that shakes the tent so violently-I can only say, unless the wind settles by early-afternoon, there's absolutely no thought of breaking camp today.

So, it's an unplanned rest day here, sat looking out at the tree-tops waving furiously back and forth: while low down, small birds flit in and out. And for now, the trees are providing good shelter for my tent as I sit perfectly still, as my muscles ache with the effort this last few days.

Apart from the strong wind, it's a bright sunny morning. Though when out first this morning, there was a rainbow to the west and cloud and rain over the mountains in that direction.

Mid-afternoon: I debate whether I should make it out and into the village, to the shop; coming to a conclusion, yes.

The wind is still blowing strong on the way to the shop, the cloud to the west early this morning has now moved in enveloping the whole sky, turning it dull and cold.

The shopkeeper on the corner tells me: it will be calm tomorrow morning, and it is 150km to Coyhaique from here, all on "terra o piedras" soil or stones. So, it should take me three days. The man at the petrol station yesterday evening, where I got water told me it is 130km and It's a good road. In any event, I take both estimations with a pinch of salt. I should find out what the road is really like in the next few days.

Later: except for the walk to the shop and back, I've spent the day in the tent or near by. I've written the script for my spook radio show for the journal. It's now 8.53 as I wait for water to boil to cook spaghetti. And I've just bèen out: the wind is settling and the sky is cloudless, with an orange sunset that silhouettes the hills to the west. It bodes well for tomorrow.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0