Sat 15th Oct: San Martin de Los Andes - JP McCraicken With The News - CycleBlaze

October 15, 2016

Sat 15th Oct: San Martin de Los Andes

While eating the hostel breakfast, we look out the window upon a wet street, as it has been raining all night, and at the moment is drizzling.

Rain is forecast for the next two to three days, according to the the Argentine metrological website Javier uses.

Javier nevertheless will ride on today, as he finds the hostel a bit expensive at 260 pesos, while I've checked in for a second night.

He hangs around until nearly midday though, loading new photo editting software to my computer. When it is complete, the rain has eased, and there is a ray of weak sunshine breaking through.

I see him off. We say our farewells and I watch him then cycle off down the street, turning the corner out of sight. I kind of wish I was riding on myself today, if it wasn't for the need to do a few things in town. However, we may cross paths again, who knows.

He was such an interesting traveller, having come to South America working on a yacht, and would be seeking passage on a frieght ship for his return to Europe.

He worked picking grapes in Tarja, Bolivia, for a German family called Colburn. He also worked on an estancia in Argentina.

Javier from Spain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the afternoon I go to La Anonima and buy enough food for three days. Then visit the bike shop, buying a new chain and brake-pads. On the way back make a successful withdrawal from an ATM. Alway good to have plenty of cash. Back at the hostel I fit the new chain. Then play around with the new computer photo-editting thingy, to familarise myself with it. It got pretty boring.

I should be heading off in the morning, rain or no...

Today's ride: 1,238 km (769 miles)
Total: 4,378 km (2,719 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0