Mon 21th Nov: near ? to turning for Paso Raballos (17km north of Cochrane). - JP McCraicken With The News - CycleBlaze

November 21, 2016

Mon 21th Nov: near ? to turning for Paso Raballos (17km north of Cochrane).

Confluence on the Rio Baker.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The sun is hidden in haze first thing this morning. Slow to get going. But once it would, it would be yet another cloudless hot day. A bit of Gerry Rafferty's Baker Street helps set the mood: the dawning May morning; the sun breaking on the horizon; bringing to life dew damp grass and wildflowers. The fishy sound proceeding the saxaphone, that goes, dar dah dah, dah dah dee.

Mind I wrote about having to take a ferry yesterday. Well, when I rode this road back in January 2005, there was a car ferry, "Transadora" as they call it here, across a narrow strait of Lago Carrera, where the lake drains into Rio Baker. Since then however, a bridge has been built. I reach this point an hour after setting out; following on with the lake on my left, which has been my companion for two days. And once over the new bridge, the road follows on along a fjord-like bay. The road so far in find order so I can roll along at a fair pace. There still is though short sections of washboard, and places with crater potholes that I swerve around.

Shortly I come upon the French couple, taking down their tent a little in off the road. Their names are Theo and Michel. They'd pressed on yesterday and found a much better campsite than what I did, on a level grassy promentary, shielded all around by clumps of dwarf beechwood, with a limitless view out across the fjord and the mountains around.

Further on I pick up the same pair of thin tyre tracks of yesterday, seemingly very fresh today. Then on cresting a hill, see cyclists just ahead. I soon reach the girl who's trailing behind, almost stopped on the steep downhill with one foot on the ground. The section so steep that I go further and get off to walk. She tells me her name is Frances and is from England. Who asks me where I cycled from and when I say, replies with overwhelmed sighs of "amazing!" and "how cool!" You spend days alone, then suddenly you meet a girl that becomes so flattered by what you say, you feel she's in the palm of your hand. Sadly, her boyfriend is waiting further down the road. I knew nevertheless I'd get on well with Frances.

I meet her boyfriend called Alex, who I like too. We talk about bikes and the route mainly, as most cyclists who meet on the road do.

Frances and Alex, couple I cycled with today.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Shortly, Theo and Michel catch up and we are a company of five; until, a long hill strings us out. The French leading on ahead; upon which, I open the lungs, giving the pedals a hard spin, giving it all in a surge of power that sees me spin out and pass them against burning pain in my legs.

We come together again upon the steep descend to Puerta Bertrand; where the English and I turn off into the village, to a shop to buy a few things for lunch. Then lunch together on a bench outside the shop.

The French having ridden on I remain with the English for nearly the rest of the day; until late-afternoon; when, the road winds up a steep hill. By this point I'm feeling tired. I need to stop, as the others push ahead. Then the road levelling out on top with a deep drop along the right side into a gulp with a large river at the bottom, the Rio Baker. And shortly, I come to a left turn, route X83 to the Argentine border, Paso Raballos. A little in this road I see unfenced pasture with clumps of dwarf trees, whereupon I push the bike in well away from the road to a promentary, a level grassy sward with all round view.

The turn off for Paso Raballos in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The weather seems to be on the change, as a bit of a breeze picks up billowing the tent as I put it up. And later when I've had tea and write, thin cloud has blown in. Will this mean a break in the find weather.

The wine tastes fantastic, having felt the warmth of the sun. And it's hard to believe this far south I sit here at half nine in shorts and tee-shirt and it still isn't dark yet.

Well, the only thing further worth reporting is, an hour later while in the tent I hear pounding footfall and deep breathing outside. Looking out, I see cows stirring at the tent and now me. Curiosity I suppose. Soon they have lost interest and begin wandering off in the dark.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0