Equipment - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

Equipment

Over the course of about 5,500 miles of touring, I've been able to refine how I pack for a tour. Here is a rough idea of what I intend on bringing with me for this tour:

THE BIKE

-Novara Mazama fitted with 35mm Schwalbe Marathon Supreme tires

-Nashbar and Blackburn front and rear racks, along with straps for the rear rack

-2 Axiom panniers

-Brooks B17 saddle (THE touring saddle) and rain cover

-Specialized bike computer

-Multi-tool, patch kit, 2 spare tubes, one set of brake pads, chain lube, WD-40, and rag

-Rechargeable front/rear lights and safety reflector

-Two water bottles (one of which has duct tape rolled around it, a useful tip)

-ACA Pacific Coast maps

The general setup I will be using. I'll probably strap my tent onto the rear rack as well just to open up some space in one of my panniers. Also, I now have a small frame bag that will help me carry equipment that I will access more frequently throughout the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

CAMPING GEAR

-REI Radiant 19 down sleeping bag

-REI Passage 1 tent

-Therm-a-rest Z-Lite sleeping pad

-JetBoil stove, fork, mug, and tupperware

-First aid kit, sunscreen, chamois cream, bug spray, and toiletries

-Pocket knife

-Microfiber towel

-U-lock and cable

I've been a big fan of REI's house brand products. Here is the Half Dome 1 I used on my past tours. It's just the right size for one person, and the vestibule can hold all of my gear if the weather turns sour.
Heart 0 Comment 0

CLOTHING+PERSONAL GEAR

-One long sleeved sun shirt (which I intend on wearing while biking)

-One short sleeved shirt for camp

-Fleece and thermal top

-One padded bike shorts

-One pair of camp shorts

-One pair of synthetic underwear

-One pair of Tevas for camp

-One pair of synthetic socks

-One pair of wool socks

-Wool beanie

-Cycling gloves

-Shimano mountain biking shoes with cleats

-Helmet

-Samsung S7 phone and charger

-GoPro and assorted mounts

FOOD

I find that instant coffee and oatmeal loaded with raisins and peanut butter is a great way to start a day of touring. Lunch usually consists of peanut butter and jelly wrapped in a tortilla, along with assorted high-calorie snacks (trail mix, Payday bars, etc) throughout the day. Dinner is usually some kind of pasta or rice dish, spiced up with veggies or hot sauce. Of course, the occasional milkshake or ice cream is always a welcome addition after a long, hot day in the saddle. I also enjoy having fresh fruit on hand (namely apples) to break up the bouts of junk food that cyclists often find themselves eating. I intend on maintaining this diet on this trip, and won't have to carry as much with me given the frequency of grocery stores on the route.

Heart 0 Comment 0
My panniers are like Mary Poppin's handbag.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0