DAY 9: Honeyman Memorial State Park to Humbug Mountain State Park - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2018

DAY 9: Honeyman Memorial State Park to Humbug Mountain State Park

STATS:

Distance: 116.43 miles

Average Speed: 13.6 mph

Time Pedaling: 8:29:06

Maximum speed: 33.7 mph

Expenses: $13 ($7 for campsite, plus $6 for dinner and a treat at Dairy Queen)

Wow. 116 miles. And they all felt great. Today turned out to be an unexpectedly incredible day, and I'm eager to share it with you all.

I woke up at 6 today and for one reason or another wasn't all that eager to get on the road. Perhaps it was just the routine of it all catching up with me; or maybe I was simply overtaxed and under-rested. Either way, I was quick to make breakfast and hit the road.

The road was pretty quiet this morning, and meandered amongst the forests several miles inland. I stopped at the top of several climbs to drink water and stretch.

Wow! This was unexpected. I didn't think the route would take me this far inland.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A respite from the past few days of noisy cars.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was a kind, pleasant surprise! I grabbed some jello and kept on pedaling.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made excellent time to Coos Bay and was feeling considerably better than I did in the morning. I decided to reevaluate my day's goal and push on towards Humbug State Park. Doing so will make my next two days slightly easier, before I then take a rest day in McKinleyville, California.

Sunny skies after a morning of gray!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A wilderness principle that is always important to live by.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The dunes just before crossing the bridge into Coos Bay.
Heart 0 Comment 0

From Coos Bay, the route dips inland and climbs up Seven Devils Road. This stretch of quiet two lane roads was simply stunning. There's no other word for it. I felt as though I was gliding over the crest of the trees, and the sky was imposing and grand. It truly felt like being on the top of the world.

Descending into the cute coastal town of Bandon, I was feeling great. It was only 1, and I was already at my intended destination. I decided to make today a long day and press on to Humbug Mountain State Park, another 45 miles to the south. And boy was I glad I did.

Passing gas is windy business!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Imagine a quaint, picturesque summertime village and you'll be thinking of Bandon. The road wound through neighborhoods with sandy wood shingled cottages and windblown trees, before dipping low and reconnecting onto the 101.

From here it was fairly standard riding, the difference this time being the roaring tailwind. Finally I was getting a taste of the characteristic northern winds that are supposed to characterize this route in the summer. I blasted past mile 100 and flew into Port Orford, where I bought some celebratory licorice in the local shop. I also ran in to Simon and Crystal, two Scandinavian tourists I would later see at camp.

The last three miles were on a steep bluff overlooking the Pacific. It was some of the most gorgeous riding I've had the pleasure of doing.

There was a solid sense of community amongst the cyclists at Humbug, which is something I've been missing on this route. We shared dinner and told tales, and mutually decided that tomorrow we'll travel to Harris Beach.

Today was the day I've been wanting to have since starting this trip.

Gas: passed (and then some)

Heart 0 Comment 0
No words necessary.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Camp for the night!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 116 miles (187 km)
Total: 686 miles (1,104 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0