DAY 8: Beverly Beach State Park to Honeyman State Park - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2018

DAY 8: Beverly Beach State Park to Honeyman State Park

STATS:

Distance: 67.23 miles

Average Speed: 11.6 mph

Time Pedaling: 5:45:00

Maximum speed: 33.6 mph

Expenses: $16 (campsite and groceries)

I woke up at 6 to a light pattering of rain (or at least what I thought was rain). Turns out the fog was so heavy that it was condensing and falling much as rain does. My tent was soaked, but that didn't deter me. I made breakfast, packed up, and enjoyed a cup of coffee at the welcome center before pedaling off at 8.

The first 10 miles were extremely damp, and I was very happy that I decided to keep my fenders on for my coastal trip. I took a break to dry off a bit before continuing.

It was so, so damp this morning. May as well have been raining.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a great second breakfast at Ona Beach, where I took everything out of my panniers to dry. After a bit of time in the sun, all was warm and dandy.

A pleasant spot for second breakfast, no?
Heart 0 Comment 0

The route then meandered through the trees to Yachats, and adorable little town at the base of Cape Perpetua. This is where the magic of today really picked up.

Leaving the cute town of Yachats.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cape Perpetua
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The route traversed the headlands, winding its way along the impossibly steep cliffs before plunging into the next creek bed. I saw more deals than I could count, a whale, and endless ocean vistas. Traffic wasn't too bad either.

I enjoyed lunch at a picturesque bench perched along the beach. It was the kind of spot I'd been hoping to find since starting this trip.

This was the lunch spot I was waiting for all day!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cameraman: "Now look all introspectively off into the distance."
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a fast descent into the Oregon dunes area, I picked up some groceries for the next few days and headed to camp at Honeyman Memorial State Park. It was a simply wonderful day, and tomorrow looks to be shaping up for much of the same.

Gas: passed.

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 570 miles (917 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0