DAY 7: Cape Lookout State Park to Beverly Beach State Park - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2018

DAY 7: Cape Lookout State Park to Beverly Beach State Park

STATS:

Distance: 68.06 miles

Average Speed: 12.1 mph

Time Pedaling: 5:34:07

Maximum speed: 31.9 mph

Expenses: $11.60 (milkshake and campsite)

I awoke twice last night to find a posse of three raccoons having a fiesta on my picnic table. This despite the fact that I had carefully placed all food items into the nearby lockers. I shooed the little trash bandits off and eventually made my way to sleep.

Today was a relaxing and entirely glorious day to be on a bike. The air was thick leaving Cape Lookout, and made for a serene climb and descent.

The slow climb up in the heavy mist. Only a few cars passed me over the course of several miles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A quiet walk on the beach before leaving this morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Forested dunes on the descent
Heart 0 Comment 0

I then meandered through several coastal towns before turning onto Old Scenic Highway 101. This was hands down the best part of the day. In 10 miles, I had maybe 4 cars past me. The road was sinuous and an absolute joy to cycle.

Hi cow.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just before turning inland for a bit.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just think of how many thousands of cyclists have traversed this road, be it on the TransAm, Pacific Coast, or other journeys. There's a lot of history here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm finding that the time I'm cycling on the 101 is often the least pleasant part of my day's ride. This is due largely to the incessant drone of passing traffic. The miles before and after Lincoln City were particularly unpleasant. I did see whales in Depoe Bay, though, which was quite exciting.

This unpleasantness quickly changed, however, when I turned on to Otter Bay Loop, a one-way road with a huge dedicated cycling lane. The views were simply breathtaking. I meandered on this route for several miles before finishing up my day on 101 to Beverley Beach State Park.

Interestingly enough, at this park there are more homeless/wandering individuals than there are cyclists. One of these folks, Eric, has been incredibly friendly and gave me a wealth of information about my coming days. He has spent much of the past few summers hiking and exploring the entire Oregon coast from north to south. His kindness and genuine willingness to help me both challenged my initial perceptions. There's ways something to be learned on a bike tour, be it on the bike or in camp.

Gas: passed

Lots of people at the beach!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
You couldn't ask for better roads.
Heart 0 Comment 0
No words needed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My pathetic attempt at getting one of the whales on camera.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home for the night.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 503 miles (810 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0