DAY 3: Port Townsend to Twanoh State Park - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2018

DAY 3: Port Townsend to Twanoh State Park

STATS:

Distance: 84.16 miles

Average Speed: 12.6 mph

Time Pedaling: 6:40:03

Maximum speed: 35.1 mph

Expenses: $11.25 (snacks and campsite)

A bike tour is like a living self-help book. It teaches you to actively reflect on your decisions and understand how you can take steps to make future days more fruitful. Today was very much so a learning experience for me. Let me explain.

I woke up at 6am because I wanted to cover some significant ground. After some coffee and scrambled eggs with Malia and her dad, I was on the road by 8. Good.

The first 10 or so miles of the route out of Port Townsend were on a lovely rail trail. It was foggy and quite chilly, but a wonderful way to start the day. After the trail ended, I spent some time on low-traffic backroads before taking a break at 10:30 at Port Ludlow, about 25 miles in to my day. I sat and watched two others hunting amongst the rocks, and called some loved ones to update them on my progress.

The fog really bit through my clothing. While I hope I don't encounter much more on this journey, I think it's just a fact of life that I will.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of big boats were being worked on in the boatyard.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A very pleasant place to take a break. Seeing otters was a big plus.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was after this stop that my day started to teach me some lessons. I made good progress through pleasant backroads, before turning onto busier thoroughfares towards Bremerton. I planned to stop for lunch at about 50 miles in to my day, but for one reason or another I decided to press on.

Bad idea.

I found myself becoming incredibly lethargic, and began to realize I should have eaten earlier. But I was on a busy stretch of road, and couldn't just stop to whip up a meal. So onward and upward I went.

I was completely bonked, and just wanted to take a nap by the side of the road. But that (obviously) wasn't possible. Only as my energy-deprived mind began hallucinating of milkshakes and nourishment did I come upon a McDonalds.

 No one has ever been as excited to see the golden arches as I was in that moment. I splurged on a milkshake and fries, and sat down to reflect on my intended plans. I needed to reevaluate my goals and expectations, while still making forward progress. My plan to make it to today's intended stealth campsite was completely out of the picture, as was my goal of getting to Astoria by tomorrow.

But then it dawned on me: I don't need to accomplish every goal I set myself on this journey. Just the simple act of being on the road is enough. That alone should be enough to keep me going, even when the going gets tough.

With that in mind, I plowed on. Highway 3 from Bremerton was miserable, and I really just wanted to find a place to camp. I ultimately decided to go off-route and camp at Twanoh State Park.

What a blessing this campsite has been. As I write this, I'm perched 20 feet above the Hood Canal and sharing my site with Warren, a fellow bike tourist. It was only $6 for the night, and we've been sharing stories of the tribulations that come with bike touring. I went for a gloriously refreshing swim, showered up, and had a hefty dinner before calling it a day.

This milkshake basically saved my life.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Foraging for wild blackberries throughout the day was also quite a highlight. They're everywhere, and right now are just ripe enough for enjoyment.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Worth every pedal stroke.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's to many more mindful miles in the saddle.

Gas: passed (with a few hiccups)

Today's ride: 84 miles (135 km)
Total: 189 miles (304 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0