DAY 2:Bellingham to Port Townsend - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2018

DAY 2:Bellingham to Port Townsend

STATS:

Distance: 70.35 miles

Average Speed: 12.3 mph

Time Pedaling: 5:40:55

Maximum speed: 38.0 mph

Expenses: $4.25 (ferry)

What a truly spectacular day on the road. The morning started with bittersweet goodbyes and  kind words of encouragement. I then headed south out of Bellingham on the Interurban Trail, before switching over to flat farmland roads in Skagit County.

The Interurban Trail, a favorite rail-trail of mine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chuckanut Drive, just before descending into farmlands.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sunflowers in Skagit were an unexpected surprise!
Heart 0 Comment 0

After many scenic miles on these quiet roads, I hopped on to Highway 20, which was quite the polar opposite. That being said, drivers were respectful, and the scenery still pretty. I soon found myself going over Deception Pass.

The current was ripping, as is the norm for this pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The fog really cut through clothing and really chilled things. It was a nice blast of cool air.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Le steed, working flawlessly as usual.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I stopped for a lunch break before then transferring back over to quiet roads on the west side of Whidbey Island. This was my favorite part of the day, although there were a few steep hills that were painfully reminiscent of those I encountered on the TransAm back in Missouri.

A Michellin Star meal if there ever was one.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's hard to capture the grade of roads in a picture, but rest assured that this one was plenty steep.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A glorious day indeed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm looking forward to many more views like this one.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I spent some time in Coupville before finishing my final stretch on Whidbey Island. I took the 5:15 ferry to Port Townsend, where I met up with my good friend Malia. We made pizzas at her place and enjoyed conversation out on the porch, until calling it a night around 9:30. What a day.

Enjoying the view on the short hop over to Port Townsend.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Thank you Malia for the dinner and rosé! Although I should clarify for those that do not share my sense of humor: we did not eat the Frisky's cat food...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Gas: passed.

Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 105 miles (169 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0