DAY 26: Encinitas to Tijuana (Baja California Norte) - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2018

DAY 26: Encinitas to Tijuana (Baja California Norte)

STATS:

Distance: 56.40 miles

Average Speed: 11.8 mph

Time Pedaling: 4:45:47

Maximum speed: 32.9 mph

Expenses: $300mxn (gorditas, coke, beer, postcards, and sticker for my bike) and $20 usd (shake, fries, ferry, trolley, and coaster tickets)

One of the most frequent-asked question I get while on the road is "Why are you doing this?" My answer is simple: I want to suck the life out of every minute I have here on this earth. When my time comes to leave this world, I want to be absolutely exhausted from all that I've seen, done, and experienced. Bike touring is one of the best ways to truly feel alive.

Today was a wonderful end to a wonderful trip. I got a ride back to Encinitas, where I stopped yesterday afternoon. I headed south, stopping to admire the view before climbing up and over Torrey Pines.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The climb was uneventful, and I soon wound my way into La Jolla, where I stopped for my last milkshake and fries of the trip. It was then on to Mission Bay along a pleasant little path, before curving into downtown San Diego. I bought my ferry ticket to cross the bay to Coronado, and missed the departing ferry by seconds. So I had a long time to decompress and relax in the shade.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The ferry ride to Coronado was beautiful. I may be biased since I grew up here, but San Diego truly is America's finest city. It's clean, easy to navigate, and has strong ties to Mexico, which is only a few miles to the south. I may not settle down here, but it doesn't mean I don't appreciate it for what it is.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The northerly winds blasted me down Silver Strand, and I could soon see the thin line delineating Mexico from the United States. I put on some of my favorite Mexican music and took in the last few miles I had to ride in the US.

I deviated from the ACA maps and made my way to the new Pedwest Border Crossing. After exchanging some dollars for pesos, flashing my passport, and x-raying my panniers, I was in Mexico.

I had made it. And it felt so, so good. I couldn't stop smiling.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've always seen pictures of this sign but never actually saw it in-person until today.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I've been to Tijuana more times than I can remember, so I knew exactly where I wanted to go to eat. This was my first time, however, biking there. The chaos of the streets was a familiar scene, though, and I quickly learned how to best go with the flow.

The Baja Peninsula will likely be my next trip (after some much needed rest and reflection), so I was thrilled to see this sign.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Located on 5th and Madero. Best place just off of Revolución.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I ate 5 of these bad boys, along with a coke. Diet starts tomorrow. All for 100mxn (about 5 usd).
Heart 0 Comment 0
Enjoying a Tecate before crossing back.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After some pictures and unbeatable street food, I bought a couple of post cards and a sticker for my bike before heading back to Pedwest. This new crossing is loads better and faster than the old more eastly crossing. Take note, future cyclists.

I breezed into the US and took the trolley back to downtown. I managed to miss my connecting train to north county, which gave me the time to write this entry.

So, after 1,777 miles and one too many milkshakes, I've made it from Canada to Mexico. Thank you to everyone that provided me with guidance, support, and words of encouragement along the way. Perhaps this journey will inspire you to dust off your bike, pump up your tires, and go for a ride down the block, across town, or on a trip of your own. Just be careful: you might find passing gas to be highly addictive 🚴‍♂️💨⛽ Trip reflections will be coming soon.

Gas: passed.

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 1,904 miles (3,064 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0