DAY 25: Newport Beach to Encinitas - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 27, 2018

DAY 25: Newport Beach to Encinitas

STATS:

Distance: 66.35 miles

Average Speed: 13.1 mph

Time Pedaling: 5:03:33

Maximum speed: 34.6 mph

Expenses: $15

You'll never fully appreciate how comfortable a real bed is until you've slept on a camping pad for nearly a month. I slept so soundly, and was up by 6:45 and ready to pedal by 7:30. I said goodbye to my gracious host Jeanette, who was kind enough to leave me with $50 and a request that I "enjoy a good meal with it on my trip." How do you adequately respond to such a display of generosity?

I left Newport Beach and took the quaint Balboa Island Ferry. After a quick bite to eat at Starbucks, I headed south on side roads. The Adventure Cycling Association specifically suggests that cyclists take alternate  routes to Highway 1 due to "aggressive drivers in Orange County." I went as far as I could before getting back on to the 1.

Heart 0 Comment 0

They were right. Drivers were impatient, too fast, and truly terrible. I nearly called the cops on a landscaping truck that buzzed me much closer than is lawful. Luckily, the madness lasted only for a few miles before I joined some sandy bike paths down to San Clemente. I stopped for fries and a shake before continuing south.

It's quite telling that I was eager to enter Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton; the live fire, minefields, tanks, and military practices all sounded like more pleasant and safer options than continuing to ride amongst the Orange County riders.

Hehehehe do you see what I see.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The path before the base.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a long stretch on an old freeway-cum-bike path, I turned to enter Camp Pendleton, where I was promptly denied entry. I had pre-registered to access the base months ago, and knew that the base would be changing their entry protocol in September or October. As it turns out, they expedited the implementation of that protocol without informing folks that had already registered. You must now pre-register and obtain a QR code at the south entrance. This will make it all-but-inpossible for future southbound tourists to cross the base. So, I turned around and biked 7 miles south on the shoulder of I-5, a much more unpleasant and (presumably) dangerous route. Clearly the safety of passing cyclists is not a priority to the folks that manage Camp Pendleton.

My not-so-happy face on I-5. Thanks federal government.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a hellacious ride, I rode into Oceanside Harbor. This was a special moment for me, as I always come to the harbor to swim and kayak with my dad. I finally felt at home.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The ride south from Oceanside to Encinitas was smooth, and exponentially more pleasant than any of the rides through Los Angeles and Orange Counties. Roads were quiet, the beaches serene, and the drivers polite.

I pedaled a few miles inland to surprise my dad at work (where I'm now updating this blog). Tomorrow I'll ride back with him here, and set off to Mexico. T-minus one day to great street food!

Gas: passed.

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 1,848 miles (2,974 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0