DAY 20: Pfeifer Big Sur State Park to San Simeon State Park - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 22, 2018

DAY 20: Pfeifer Big Sur State Park to San Simeon State Park

Pics up tomorrow when I have better signal!

STATS:

Distance: 75.27

Average Speed: 12.5 mph

Time Pedaling: 5:58:16

Maximum speed: 34.6 mph

Expenses: $ 28 (ice cream, fish and chips, and campground) I am not really good at sticking to a budget

A truly sublime day of bike touring. There's no other way of putting it. I've frequently heard folks state that Big Sur is the most rewarding part of the Pacific Coast Bike Route, and their statements ring true. My goal for today was to suck the life out of every moment, since I would be biking almost the whole length of Big Sur in one fell swoop.

I left camp at 8:15 and was immediately rewarded with a butt-throbbing climb and subsequent descent. That's when the beauty really started (well, the throbbing was pretty beautiful if that's what you're into)

The day consisted of rolling hills, interspersed with sharp, short climbs. Traffic was quite minimal, and there were periods of time when I'd have the road to myself for several miles. Glorious.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The exotic cars coming down from Monterey were a nice addition to the day as well. At one point, I was overtaken by an incredible trio of supercars: an original (!) Lancia Stratos, a Ferrari 550, and a Lexus LFA. I'm not sure if I've ever smiled as much as I did in that moment. Their combined sounds were sonorous, and the scenery divine.

After a lunch break in Gorda, I continued on. I ended up waiting for about a half hour as a semi that had toppled onto its side was righted. Both drivers and cyclists alike were antsy, were antsy, since many had been waiting for nearly 3 hours. The semi was able to make it down the last descent on it's own, but we were forced to follow it at a glacial pace. Luckily, the passing Lamborghinis, Ferraris, Spykers, Paganis, Porsches, and Aston Martins made the slow ride worth it.

Heart 0 Comment 0
The massive landslide that kept Big Sur closed for almost a year. You can see it in the upper left corner.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The offending semi truck. How it was still able to drive down I have no clue
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a ripping tailwind going in to San Simeon. I reconvened with David, the ultralite cyclist I had originally met back near Gualala. We splurged and had a great meal of fish and chips, something I've been craving this entire trip. After dinner, I staggered onto my bike and pedaled two miles further south to San Simeon State Park, where I had a very lukewarm shower and went to bed. Tomorrow will be a short cruise to San Luis Obispo, where I'll be staying with my brother's friend. My left knee is acting up, so I'm quite glad to have a shorter day.

Best day yet.

Gas: passed

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 1,463 miles (2,354 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0