DAY 17: Samuel P. Taylor State Park to Half Moon Bay State Park - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2018

DAY 17: Samuel P. Taylor State Park to Half Moon Bay State Park

STATS:

Distance: 59.84

Average Speed: 11.2 mph

Time Pedaling: 5:17:36

Maximum speed: 35.0 mph

Expenses: $12 (coffee, cookies, bread, bananas, and onion)

Drat. I woke up to another flat on my rear tire. I definitely regret removing my tire liner before leaving. I patched it up and slowly made breakfast. I was particularly interested in talking with a French Canadian couple that was wrapping up a tour with their 10 month old daughter. It was reassuring to know that having a child in the future will not necessarily impede my ability to continue touring. Clearly I know my priorities and fully intend on sticking with them.

Simon and I left camp by 9:45. Along our route through Marin County, we entertained ourselves with running commentary regarding the pretentiousness of the road riders out for their Sunday rides. Very few even recognized us or our smiles and waves, a stark difference from other smelly bike tourists. Different strokes for different folks, I guess.

We stopped for second breakfast at The Coffee Roastery in Fairfax After an hour of free wifi and good coffee, we left for the Golden Gate Bridge. Simon would be finishing here, while I would be continuing on.

The 12 miles or so from Fairfax to the Golden Gate Bridge were on fairly quiet neighborhood streets. It was quite the opposite from the hectic city streets I was expecting to find. However, as I was soon to find out, this was simply the calm before the storm that is Golden Gate National Recreation Area.

Descending into Saulsilito.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Simon and I were soon biking through throngs of clueless tourists that swamped the road on both foot and on bike. We snapped a few pictures and high-five before heading across the bridge.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was frigid and blustery the entire way across, and when we exited we were again totally overwhelmed by the hordes of people. We found a quick route down into the city, deviating from the ACA route.

It was here downtown where Simon and I said our bittersweet goodbyes. I'm always so grateful of the people I meet on the road, and glad that we can cherish so many mutual memories.

I took a straight line path to the waterfront and immediately headed south. It was cold and gray, and I was again feeling lonely and unsure of myself. Alas, emotion is part of the bike touring experience that must be fully embraced! I pedaled on.

I wound through Daly City and Pacifica, and dipped through another tunnel before coasting the last 10 miles or so into Half Moon Bay. I staked a claim at the state park, showered up, made some mac and cheese (with the fancy cheese given to me by the French Canadian couple), and got into bed by 8:30.

Just after the tunnel. It's remarkable how much quieter it is only a few miles south of San Francisco.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Gas: passed

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 1,242 miles (1,999 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0