DAY 15: Fort Bragg to Gualala County Park - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2018

DAY 15: Fort Bragg to Gualala County Park

Pics are coming tomorrow once I have wifi in San Francisco!

STATS:

Distance: 67.50

Average Speed: 11.6 mph

Time Pedaling: 5:47:39

Maximum speed: 38.4mph

Expenses: $10 ($5 for campsite and $5 for groceries and snacks)

I have been pushing hard the past couple of days, and this morning my body felt it. My hips are creaky, my calves stiff, and my butt...uh...ahem...let's just say it could use a shorter day in the saddle.

Simon and I set the goal of getting to Gualala, a simple 60 mile jaunt down the coast. This would give us time to sleep in, enjoy the morning, and use the wifi at a local cafe. Plus, it was extremely foggy, so it was best we let it burn off a bit before riding.

Leaving our campsite at 9 this morning. Glad I've got lights and bright clothing!
Heart 0 Comment 0

We enjoyed the coffee and wifi in downtown Fort Bragg before finally departing around 11am. The riding conditions for most of the day were very predictable: foggy, rolling coastal roadway punctuated by brief, screaming descents into creekbeds and subsequent climbs. There was one climb in particular just outside the town of Elk that was viscious. The second switchback was probably the steepest single grade I have ever ridden on my bike. Once that was over, I felt as though I could conquer anything.

Heart 0 Comment 0

We took a long lunch break in Elk, where I made sure to eat plenty of carbs and simple fats. I'm trying to eat enough throughout the day, and Simon has been good at encouraging me to do so. Bagels, cheese, and tomato made for a quick, cheap meal with plenty of useful energy.

 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
So much fun riding with this guy for the past few days! Sad he's leaving me in San Francisco.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch in Elk
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A great pee stop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The last third of the day was extremely foggy, so much so that I donned my bright fleece and reignited my rear light. We cruised the final few miles to Gualala County Park, where we set up in the dark, ate a filling dinner, and went to bed. It was a satisfying, relaxing day.

Gas: passed.

Camp for the night.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 1,090 miles (1,754 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0