DAY 14: Hidden Springs Campground to Fort Bragg - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2018

DAY 14: Hidden Springs Campground to Fort Bragg

STATS:

Distance: 97.01 miles (91 to camp, plus 6 to town and back)

Average Speed: 12.1 mph

Time Pedaling: 7:59:52

Maximum speed: 37.6 mph

Expenses: $30 ($18 for 3 days of groceries, plus $12 for a burger, fries, and shake)

I keep surprising myself with these long days. I fully realize I'm ahead of schedule, but there's something that is just so satisfying about riding all day.

Today I set the goal of reaching Fort Bragg because I had found a Warmshowers host that was willing to let me camp on her property. It would be a big day not only because of the distance, but also because of the climbing.

Knowing I had a lot to accomplish, I left camp by 8:15. It was initially quite cold riding along the last stretch of Avenue of the Giants, but once out in the open I quickly broke a sweat. The rising wasn't anything to write home about (which makes it quite ironic that I'm sharing it here). It was hot, and the further I progressed the more smokey the sky became. The largest fire in California history is currently burning in Mendocino County, which I entered earlier in the day.

One last jaunt amongst the giants.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to stop and take a picture of this sad, disregarded VW Bug. What I would give to have the opportunity to restore it!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

45 miles in, I took a lunch break near Leggett. I needed to fuel up for the coming climb, which is the largest single climb on the Pacific Coast Bike Route. After downing a fair share of peanut butter, honey, and banana, and refilling my water bottles, I was off.

The climb was not that bad. In fact, I really enjoyed it. If anything, the heat was more challenging to contend with. The descent was, as usual, thrilling. I flew down with a shit-eating grin, happy with my accomplishment and progress. After a second smaller climb and descent, I was back on the coast.

Sweating my way up from Leggett.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My view on the way up. It was very dry!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The summit.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ah, I never thought I would appreciate the damp air of the coastline so much.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I meandered south along the rolling coastline before reaching Simon, who was in Westport taking a late lunch break. His knee was feeling much better, and we both rode the final 17 miles to Fort Bragg together. Once established at the Warmshowers location, we went in to town to resupply our dwindling grocery supplies, and to have a hot meal. We settled on "Giant Burger," which most definitely lived up to its name. I've been having a hard time getting enough calories on this trip, so a burger, fries, and shake really reenergized me.

Thank you Jennifer for the place to camp!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A burger, fries, and shake never hit the spot as much as it did today.
Heart 0 Comment 0

All-in-all today was physically demanding but mentally rewarding. What more could a young bike tourist hope for?

Gas: passed

Today's ride: 97 miles (156 km)
Total: 1,023 miles (1,646 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0