DAY 13: McKinneyville to Hidden Springs Campground - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2018

DAY 13: McKinneyville to Hidden Springs Campground

STATS:

Distance: 77.89

Average Speed: 13.3 mph

Time Pedaling: 5:49:21

Maximum speed: 34.9 mph

Expenses: $12.50 ($5 for campsite, plus $5 for postcards and a sticker and $2.50 for two Gatorades)

My goal for the coming days is to reach San Francisco no later than August 20. This will set me up well for a final push down the coast, and will allow me to arrive at the border on or around August 30. I've got tentative places to stay in Cayucos, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Newport Beach, all of which are well spread-out and will make my final few days much easier.

Today was a mixed bag with regards to scenery, but I made excellent progress and was surprised to feel so strong age nearly 80 miles of riding. I had breakfast and said my goodbyes to Hannah, and was pedaling by 10am. I decided to just keep to the 101 through Arcata and Eureka, rather than take the many circuitous roads that the ACA takes. I really wanted to get out of the city and figured that would be the best way of doing so.

It was deeply unpleasant riding for the first 15 miles or so. Eureka is clearly a city dealing with many challenges, which was tough (but valuable) to see firsthand. Things improved drastically when I turned off the 101 and made my way towards Ferndale and more rural farming communities. The sky was gray and the air quiet, which made for a somewhat dull ride through bucolic farmlands populated by dairy cows and sunflowers. Many of the old Victorian houses were abandoned or run-down, and gave off a rather disconcerting vibe. They looked at though they could have been the scene for an "I Spy" book. It was all quite eery. I made good time through these settings with the wind at my back.

Today's main form of company.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at the killer glasses my good friend Fiona sent me! They make me at least 10mph faster.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Eery, right?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

There were a number of rolling climbs before Rio Dell, and I started to exoerience some muscle cramping in my legs. I stopped for some Gatorade to see if that would improve my situation (the jury is still out).

I soon joined Avenue of the Giants, a stunning road through old growth redwood groves. There was little traffic, and I quite enjoyed taking in the grandeur of it all.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I reached my intended destination (Burlington Campground in Weott), only to find it closed due to ongoing renovations. I biked five miles further to Hidden Springs Campground, where I paid just $5 for my site. I met up briefly with Simon, who joined for a quick dinner before going 20 miles further down the road. Cristal stayed at camp, and we enjoyed a walk amongst the trees.

Tomorrow is the biggest climb of the Pacific Coast Bike Route, so it's off to bed for me. Until then!

Gas: passed

Today's ride: 78 miles (126 km)
Total: 926 miles (1,490 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0