DAY 11: Harris Beach State Park to McKinleyville (California) - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2018

DAY 11: Harris Beach State Park to McKinleyville (California)

STATS:

Distance: 106.77 miles

Average Speed: 13.4 mph

Time Pedaling: 7:54:17

Maximum speed: 34.2 mph

Expenses: $7 (food and coffee)

After a good night's sleep and a filling breakfast, I finally have the time to dedicate to this day's post. Here we go.

I woke up at 6:30, made breakfast, and packed my bike all by 8:30. My plan was to ride for most of today with Simon and Cristal, and to forge on to Mckinleyville once they reached Elk Prarie camp in Redwood National Park. That plan did happen, but was much more...ahem..."frantic" than I was anticipating.

Riding with Simon and Cristal has been one of the best parts of this trip. However, they really enjoy taking long breaks throughout the day, and today was no exception. We stopped to grab coffee in Brookings, lingered at the California border, and shopped in Crescent City for lunch and dinner supplies. In my mind I knew that these breaks would make my day considerably longer, but just how much longer I did not realize until it was quite late.

Last state to go! It's a big one for sure.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Prepping for the climb out of Crescent City.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We stopped at this wayside to pick blackberries for some time, before a startled farmer walked out and clearly wanted us to depart.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering a new national park on my bike is always satisfying. This is number five.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Our ride through Redwood National Park was truly humbling. There's no other word for it. The fog made for a particularly eery experience, and one that I was happy to share with my cycling partners.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

At about 4pm we took a water and rest stop at a touristy cafe. While they were inside, I decided to pull out my map and confirm how much further I had to go. Very quickly I realized I had misread the distance from Elk Prairie to McKinleyville. Instead of it being 15 miles as I though it was, it was...50. I had to get a move on.

I said goodbye to my friends, and have made plans to ride to San Francisco with them after my rest day. I hit the road, knowing I had to cover 50 miles before dark.

One final ascent through this magnificence before some of the toughest miles of my life.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Folks, I do not know if I have ever pushed myself so hard. The headwinds I encountered leaving the park were absolutely crushing. In those few hard hours I dug deep and felt as though I detached my mind from my body. I roared along, numb to frustration and exhaustion. I took no photos during this time. I was singularly focused on getting in before dark.

When I had 15 miles to go I turned on to Patrick Point Drive, which quickly disintigrated into gravel and enormous dips and cracks. It was comical.

But I did it. I finally pulled in to my friend's house at 8pm after nearly 107 miles. I was on an endorphin high, but quickly fell asleep after a great dinner. Today was what I call type 2 fun: fun in retrospect. It will surely be one of the most memorable days of this trip.

Gas: passed

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 106 miles (171 km)
Total: 848 miles (1,365 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0