In Otranto: an off day - In the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies - CycleBlaze

May 21, 2019

In Otranto: an off day

So, let’s make quick work of today, shall we?  You’re probably as tired of    my whining as Rachael and I are, so here’s a quick rundown.  After a restless night, I woke up this morning with my system stabilized but feeling very weak and lethargic.  I started the day with a modified BRAT diet, feasting on a tasty banana, some Greek yogurt, and a bottle of aqua frizzante.  And then I pretty much checked out for the rest of the morning and much of the afternoon.

Rachael made better use of her day, going out for a seven mile hike east of town along the coast and then looping back past an abandoned quarry. She came back  three hours later, exhilarated and excited about what a beautiful and interesting hike it was.  Here’s a sample of what she brought back for show and tell: 

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 9 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

Well, that certainly looks like more fun than lying around with my head under a pillow feeling sorry for myself.

Things gradually improved health-wise though, and by midafternoon I mustered up enough gumption to step out of the room for a brief walk through town, gaze up at the city’s amazing fortified walls, and peek into the cathedral.  I’m sure I would have gotten more out of it had I been feeling normal, but I saw enough to be deeply impressed.  Otranto is really a beautiful city.  It has astounding fortified walls and an impressive castle - it’s hard to imagine the place ever being conquered; it has a fascinating cathedral that we’ll cover in a separate post; and it has striking public spaces bordering the sea, paved in glistening white marble or limestone.  After about an hour though, I began feeling weak and queasy again and made a beeline back to the room where I returned to bed until dinner time.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

By seven though, I’m definitely on the mend and feeling well enough to make a stab at dinner.  Rachael and I take a pass on showing up for the second course from last night’s half-a-meal deal (in fact, we go out of our way to avoid even walking down the same street that restaurant is on).  Instead, we gravitate to the waterfront and settle into a diner on the piazza, enjoying a delicious but safe meal (grilled vegetables, grilled fish and baked potatoes) as we watch the sun set over the bay and children playing on the plaza.

I think I’ve found a new favorite town.  Even in my present state, Otranto seems pretty much ideal as a cycling base to me.  I make a mental resolve to reward myself when I get too old and weakened to tackle the hills any longer by spending a season in Otranto and its surroundings, taking it easy and enjoying beautiful flat rides along the sea.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Jen RahnLove this photo!! Pensive Piazza Squat.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraHey Scott.

Glad to hear your on the mend. Looks like a beautiful region! Great pics, too! Thanks to you both for putting another region on our bucketlist! Tail Winds.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Patrick O'HaraTail winds! Yes, we are getting good tailwinds. We must have you to thank.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago