In Maratea: a photo gallery - In the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2019

In Maratea: a photo gallery

We have stayed over in so many exceptional small towns on this tour, each with a unique character reflecting its particular history and especially the bit of rock or high ground it has been built up around.  I have a long list of favorites now, places it feels like I could never forget or mistake for anywhere else on earth.  Morano Calabro, Scilla, Petralia Sottana, Rocca Imperiale come to mind immediately, but the list is long by now.

Add Maratea to that list.  At its heart, the old town is quite small - not much more than a short, arched main commercial street and lanes branching steeply up one side and steeply down the other.  The longer I look though, the more I find of interest.  It was a good place for Rachael and I to go separate ways for awhile today so I didn’t drive her mad by stopping every ten feet to look again at the wall or alley I just passed.

So much to appreciate here.  Part of it is the exceptional location in this bowl-shaped depression between a ring of mountains, opening up to the sea to the west.  It takes your breath away to look at a colorful roofline and then look up at the radiant green ridge soaring behind it.

Heart 6 Comment 0
This must be amazing in autumn too. I’d love to come back then.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0

Part of it too is the use of color.  It’s such a multi-hued little place, without being gaudy or feeling staged.  It feels both natural and like a work of modern art at the same time.

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Another quality I really like is the quiet, relaxed street life.  Maybe it’s because it’s a hot, but every time I pass through it the streets are peopled with folks just sitting in the shade on benches or stoops, chatting with the person next to them or across the street or up above on a balcony.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Or maybe it’s the colorfully arranged flora and fauna you’ll see if you’re paying attention.

Wall flowers
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wall ferns
Heart 3 Comment 0
Gutter weeds
Heart 3 Comment 1
Suzanne GibsonLove this detail
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Tile ferns
Heart 3 Comment 1
Suzanne GibsonThis one too.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Image not found :(
Something very interesting must be up there. I watched him for a full minute and he never broke concentration or looked my way.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Image not found :(
This shot took a bit of work and patience. As soon as I walked up, the kitten ran behind its mother and squatted law to the ground. It would peek very briefly around, but too suddenly for me to catch its eye. Finally it occurred to me to catch its attention by scraping my foot against the wall.
Heart 7 Comment 1

As much as anything though, I think I was drawn by the combination of color and soft decay - faded or peeling paint, moldy walls, rotting wood, mildewed and patched plaster.  

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraGood eye, Scott. I like this series of photos. Nice composition, colour and texture. Must be nice to have time to explore on your own today and off the bikes.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

Finally, let’s do the numbers.  I wish I’d thought to look for this sooner, but here’s a reasonable set:

Three
Heart 3 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Eight
Heart 3 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Nine
Heart 3 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Ten
Heart 2 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Twelve
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Suzanne GibsonWonderful pictures of decay... the passage of time.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith ClassenGreat shots Scott!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
David MathersWow, wow and wow! What a fabulous collection of photos.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jen RahnAmazing what you see when you slow down and give your attention an opportunity to wander and be curious.

Fabulous photos!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago