False start - In the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies - CycleBlaze

March 24, 2019

False start

Well, so I was wrong.  We’re not quite ready to shut down before leaving after all.  I forgot that I’d promised to have a last look at the riverside cherry grove before we leave, and a promise is a promise.  That’s fine.  I was a track runner in my deep past, and I recall that I get one false start before I’m disqualified.

Pretty, but it looks like we’re still a week out from a full bloom. It looks like we’re about two weeks behind last year.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Suzanne GibsonNice delicate pink! Ours are in full bloom now.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago

Now that I’ve got your attention though, we might as well look around a bit more before leaving.  It seems silly to have a post with just one photo, and it’s turned into such a beautiful spring here that it’s hard to stop looking.  I’m really going to miss Portland, which is the way it should be - I’ll be excited to return.

First, a few pictures from one last visit to Mount Tabor.

A year ago, I didn’t know what this plant was; now, I see it everywhere. Thanks, Andrea!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m always confused by these early bloomers, which are a whole week earlier than the cherries on the waterfront. Are they plums, or just an earlier variety of cherry?
Heart 4 Comment 1
Andrea BrownThey are flowering plums, generally 2-3 weeks ahead of the cherries.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
The upper reservoir, Mount Tabor
Heart 2 Comment 0
First magnolias
Heart 3 Comment 0

And, finally, one really last ride out to Sauvie Island.  I’ve been wanting to come back ever since Rachael taunted me for missing the alleged flock of cranes last week.  I’m skeptical, but they’re still around alright.  There’s a flock of perhaps a hundred birds off in the distance, hiding behind a massive wall of geese.  Too far out for a really good shot, but happily the first ospreys of the year are back in town and of a mind to pose.

C’mon, lazy butt!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tree with daffodils, Sauvie Island
Heart 5 Comment 0
On Sauvie Island
Heart 2 Comment 0
On Sauvie Island
Heart 3 Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonGreat leading lines!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonThis was a lucky shot. I don’t ok this single photo as soon as I biked up, and within seconds the sun went behind the clouds with no indication it would return soon.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
We’ve ridden together for the first twenty miles, but I let her get away here while I stop to check out a few birds by the side of the road.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A huge flock. We’re looking at just a slice of what must be a several thousand bird congregation.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonThis was really great, alright. They crowded right up near our the road, keeping about 20 feet back.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
So here’s one of the reasons I wanted to come back to Sauvie again before we leave town - to see if the osprey have returned. They weren’t here yet last week.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Well, it’s official. It really must be spring.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNice shot! I wonder if that pair of ospreys is incubating eggs.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltNot yet I don’t think, because for awhile they left it abandoned - one stood guard above while the other flew off. I think they’ve only just arrived though, and I’m sure it won’t be long. This nest has born fledglings for at least the last few years. They often mate for life and can be long lived, so I assume it’s the same couple returning to their summer home year after year.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
On guard duty
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltThat one has a definite "Don't you dare come up here" look!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltMy reaction too after looking at it again. I sure wouldn’t mess with them. I almost recaptioned it along that line myself.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago

OK, now I’m really done.  See you in Sicily.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonA perfect grand finale! Buon Viaggio!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Sue PriceOne day we will have to ride in Portland with you two!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago