Tour logistics - #N2CLE Birthday Tour - CycleBlaze

May 2, 2021

Tour logistics

The start, end, accommodations, packing, and loading the bike

My classic Longhaul Trucker ready to leave an Airbnb in Cincinnati's Over-the-Rhine for my southern Ohio to Erie Tour to my home
Heart 0 Comment 0

Some bicycle tourists saddle up on their bikes and set out with little to no planning, agenda, or destination. That is not me. A very experienced bicycle tourist once told me that he only plans his first and last nights of a tour. He lets the experiences on his bike chart the course for the days in between. I love that concept. My analytical nature prevents me from crossing my comfort zone.

Getting to the start and from the end

This tour finds me setting out from my front door. That eliminates the logistics of traveling to the tour’s starting line. I just need to roll out of bed and onto the bike. My five fellow bicycle tourists are not so lucky. One is traveling from Florida with most of the others a 2-hour drive away. The tour is not a loop; meaning we all need to plan our journeys home.

I am hosting the group at my home the night before allowing for a less hectic morning start. My husband Brett and fellow tourist Greg’s wife Eileen will be our SAG drivers at the end of the tour. My Florida pal Allen is heading back to Florida from my home at the end of the tour.

Accommodations

Overnights were easy to plan for this tour. I have toured this route twice and have routinely cycled these miles over the years. I am familiar with the towns and cities and the available accommodations. I ideally select touring overnights that are an easy walk or pedal to food, drink, and local amenities.

My European tours have given me an affinity to boutique inns and B&Bs that are common in Europe. These inns require more planning due to their size and attractiveness to travelers. Ideal but rural Ohio is not Switzerland. Our first overnight is in a small historic hotel. The second overnight is a modern hotel that is convenient to amenities. The final overnight is at Greg and Eileen’s home.

My fellow bicycle tourists have not cycled some or all portions of this tour’s route. I aim to plan something unexpected and unique for each day. I think I have that covered for this tour. The unexpected, whether planned or spur of the moment, makes for a memorable tour.

My fully loaded Kona Sutra on my self-supported Florida Keys camping tour
Heart 0 Comment 0

Packing

I am touring with two rear and no front panniers on this tour. The logistics of what to carry on the bike is something that takes some planning. I have built checklists by pannier of what I carry on the bike. I update these lists based on my latest experiences. Tour duration, tour style, and best guess of the weather drive the list contents. This is the starting point for packing.

I lay the items out on my guest bed. Over a few days, I remove the unnecessary and may add some items. I pack my panniers a few days before the start of the tour. I check the weight of each pannier and distribute it as evenly as possible. The goal is 7-8 pounds per pannier.

Loading the bike

The methodology of distributing weight on a bike varies by touring cyclist. I prefer to pack the front panniers lighter, generally clothing and toiletries. This makes it easier to control the front wheel.

The rear panniers carry camping supplies, electronics, and the miscellaneous. I am mindful of packing rear panniers with too much weight. This can result in broken spokes or flat tires. I may move items to the front panniers to lessen the weight on the rear of the bike.

The best rule of thumb for packing for a bicycle tour is to carry fewer items and weight. Clothing can be worn multiple days. Your nightly shower and bathroom sink double duty as your on-tour laundromat.

Walmart, Dollar General, and Family Dollar stores are prevalent. I buy food and drink along the way. You will be a happier cyclist carrying less weight, especially on the hills and in the wind.

"Why are there things I never removed from my panniers? Like a Boy Scout, I needed be prepared, maybe.." - Tom's lament at the end of every tour
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0