My bags are packed - #N2CLE Birthday Tour - CycleBlaze

May 3, 2021

My bags are packed

What goes where and why in my panniers

Everything organized and laid out on my guest bed
Heart 0 Comment 0

I talked a little about my touring rig setup for a self-supported camping bicycle tour in the last post, Tour Logistics. I use both front and rear panniers to spread the weight and gear across the bike. A good summary of that setup is that clothes, toiletries, food, and soft goods find a home in the front panniers. Electronics, camping gear, and heavier items end up in the rear of panniers.

I am touring this time with a much lighter setup since I am not camping. A 4-day self-supported credit card tour does not warrant front panniers. I am carrying all of my gear in rear panniers. The packing of the panniers is more about even weight distribution and convenience.

Consistency is important when packing panniers. Digging through a pannier to find something is painful and leaves the pannier a mess. I pack the items I need during the day in my left panniers. The right panniers carry the items I need during the night. There are things I do for convenience that I explain below.

  • My rain jacket, ball cap, electronics bag, and toiletry bag (in that order) sit on top of the other items in my left pannier.
  • I pack a manilla folder with all travel documents on the inner bike wall of the left pannier where it remains flat and is easy to retrieve.
  • My 10” laptop in a sleeve (often a tablet) is packed on the inner bike wall of the right pannier protecting it from impact during a fall.
  • The remaining tour gear is packed following my consistency guidelines. These items are the items I may move to balance the weight.
  • I move heavier items first if I need to balance the load. This results in fewer items moved from their assigned pannier. 
  • I include on-person and on-bike items on my checklist. It is a good way to verify you have everything you need.
  • I cannot stress enough the importance of being consistent in packing. It leads to a good habit that makes life on the bike easier. 
It all fits with room to spare!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Packing list & touring rig configuration

Left Pannier (8 Pounds) 

 Ball cap, 2 casual shirts, t-shirt, pair of jeans, 2 underwear, electronics dry sack (charging cables, small power strip w/USB ports, USB plug, toiletry bag (travel size toothpaste, mouthwash, body wash, deodorant, toothbrush, hairbrush, shower scrubby, hair gel, Rx in a pill case, laundry bag (3 Tide pods), travel documents folder (hotel/travel confirmations)

Right Pannier (8 Pounds) 

 3 jerseys, bike shorts, 2 bike short liners, 4 bike/casual socks, laptop sleeve (10” laptop, mouse & charging cable) 

On-person

Helmet, Jersey, Long cycling tights (first-morning forecast is cold.), bike socks, bike shoes cycling gloves, waterproof jacket, phone, Fitbit   

On-bike

Garmin, headlight & taillight, 2 water bottles, tire pump, GoPro & handlebar mount, seat bag (Inner tube & flat repair kit)   

 Handlebar Bag

2 energy bars, 15,000 battery pack & cable, phone charging cable, lock, touring cards (business cards with my photo and info to hand to other bicycle tourists)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0