Day 4: To Powers - South Oregon Coast and Coast Range 2008 - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2008

Day 4: To Powers

It was 50F and breezy when I got up. I put on my rain jacket for the first and only time during the trip. Once on the road I backtracked 3 miles to Charleston, then turned south on Seven Devils Road. Starting near sea level the road quickly climbs to 600 feet elevation. There is somewhat of a view at the top but most of the time there is no distant view of the ocean or the coast range. Just miles of tree plantations including some recent clear cuts. The temperature rises rapidly as the road gets farther from the ocean.

Distant view of the ocean from the summit of Seven Devils road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking inland from the summit of Seven Devils road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Clearcut on Seven Devils road.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At the top of a big hill I turned onto Whiskey Run and had a long descent towards Bandon. Approaching Bandon I could feel the temperature drop again as I neared the ocean.

This modest sign marks the entrance to 3 exclusive golf courses. One ranked #2 in the USA.
Heart 0 Comment 0
New sidewalk on the Bandon waterfront.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWow, you can see the strong wind from the straight-out flag!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode a few blocks off-route for a view of the Coquille river lighthouse on the other side of the Coquille river.

Coquille river lighthouse across the river from Old Town Bandon.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from Bandon beach loop.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then 2 miles down Beach Loop to Face Rock State Park. The park has great scenery and great beach access. I've been there several times before. One advantage of touring near home is that you know the best places to visit (or avoid).

Face Rock State Park on the Bandon beach loop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Face Rock State Park on the Bandon beach loop.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Coquille river jetty, Bullard's beach, and the Coquille river lighthouse.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After taking several pictures I backtracked to Bandon for lunch at a Mexican restaurant. I parked my bike in deep shade. After lunch the cyclocomputer's thermometer displayed 59F. Summer on the Oregon coast.

I had a refreshing swim here in the Coquille river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I left Bandon at 1PM heading inland on highway 42S towards the town of Coquille. The road starts with a 2 mile climb, then drops down to the Coquille river and follows the river to town. The temperature rose steadily to 80F as I traveled inland. In Coquille I turned south on highway 42 to the town of Myrtle Point which has my last cellular service for a couple of days. 3 miles past Myrtle Point I turned south on a county road towards Powers. 20 miles of beautiful pastures and hayfields along the south fork of the Coquille river.

Pasture between Myrtle Point and Powers.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
South fork Coquille river near Powers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
South fork Coquille river, near Powers.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got a campsite at Powers County Park. $11, the most expensive campsite of the trip, on the shore of a small lake. My site is farther from water and toilets than other sites but it has a better view and fewer neighbors.

View from my campsite at Powers county park.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I enjoyed the warm sunny evening. The temperature felt warm even at sunset. Warmer and less humid than on the coast.

Today had long mileage and a lot of climbing but I had a tailwind most of the time. I'm feeling good and the bike is working well.

Distance: 80.1 miles (128 km)
Climbing: 3023 feet (916 m)
Average Speed: 10.7 mph (17.1 km/h)
Maximum Speed: 34.5 mph (55 km/h)

Today's ride: 80 miles (129 km)
Total: 252 miles (406 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0