Day 7: To Wolf Creek - Southwest Oregon 2005 - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2005

Day 7: To Wolf Creek

After yesterday's exertions I didn't feel bad about sleeping until 9AM. Even then I took my time and finally got on the road at 11:30AM. There was a triathlon going on in the park. But the stages were bike-run-paddle instead of bike-run-swim. Even without the triathlon there were many people there to float on the Rogue River.

On the road I headed downstream, backtracking 5 miles to Galice. Does it count as backtracking if it was too dark to see it the day before? The road stays close to the river and has excellent views from high rock escarpments. From every river overlook I could see people floating in rafts, kayaks, or inner tubes.

Wide view of the Rogue River near Galice.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking down on people paddling on the Rogue River.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I stopped for lunch at the Galice resort. It was packed with triathlon folks and people in the area to float on the river. Fortunately they had a buffet so it didn't take extremely long. And touring cyclists always get their money's worth at a buffet! After lunch I continued upstream to the Grave Creek bridge. There were almost continuous spectacular views of the Rogue River between Galice and the Grave Creek bridge. The area was crowded with people out to enjoy the river on a hot Sunday afternoon. I want to go back with my inflatable kayak but preferably on a weekday when it's not so crowded.

Paddlers stopped where Grave Creek flows into the Rogue River.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rogue River from the Grave Creek bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I turned turned east on Grave Creek Road going upstream along Grave Creek. I was surprised how many people were in the area. The creek is too small for rafting but every road turnout had parked cars and people free camping wherever there was space for a tent. The road is relatively flat along the Rogue River but it was quite steep going up Grave Creek and Lower Wolf Creek. And it was another hot sunny afternoon with temperatures in the 90's. Fortunately I was able to stop and swim in the creek a couple of times. And the steep sections only climbed a few hundred feet at a time. Unfortunately, my throat was sore and I was starting to get congested sinuses.

I arrived at the town of Wolf Creek at 4:45PM. There's not much in town except a gas station and small grocery store. The most prominent landmark in town is the Wolf Creek Inn which served as a stagecoach stop on the Applegate immigrant trail. It's now a fancy restaurant.

Wolf Creek Inn is an old stagecoach stop built in 1883.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I intended to go a few miles farther to Glendale but decided to stop there. I wasn't feeling well and still hadn't fully recovered from yesterday's huge climb. I stopped at Wolf Creek County Park on the edge of town. The park is kind of a seedy place where locals hang out to drink beer. And it has insects because the creek is slow moving. But it's good enough. I made a homebrew shower, cooked dinner, and went to bed early. My cold was steadily getting worse and worse.

Distance: 28.7 mi. (45.9 km)

Climbing: 1446 ft. (438 m)

Average speed: 8.4 mph (13.4 km/h)

Maximum speed: 34.0 mph (54.4 km/h)

Hiking: none

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 305 miles (491 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0