Day 4: To Humbug Mountain - Southwest Oregon 2005 - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2005

Day 4: To Humbug Mountain

What a difference a day makes! Yesterday afternoon was foggy, windy, and cold. This morning was sunny, windy, and cold. The lighthouse didn't open until 10AM so I left the campsite at 9:50AM. The gate was open this time and I got there just before the lighthouse opened for the first tour. The sky was totally sunny for the first time on this tour. Cape Blanco is very photogenic with great views in all directions. The base of the lighthouse is 245 feet (74m) above the crashing surf. It was built in 1870 and is the oldest operating lighthouse in Oregon.

Cape Blanco Lighthouse. Blue sky at last!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Fresnel lens and "bulb changer" mechanism, Cape Blanco Lighthouse.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cape Blanco, the westernmost point of Oregon.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The windward north side of Cape Blanco.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The calmer south side of Cape Blanco. Humbug mountain in the distance.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After leisurely touring the lighthouse area I headed back to Highway 101. It was much easier with a tailwind and with only one hill to climb instead of two. And of course the tailwind continued as I headed south on highway 101.

Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWhen I biked down the Oregon coast in 2009, I enjoyed the constant tailwinds! :)
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago

I stopped for lunch in the charming town of Port Orford. It's the oldest town on the Oregon coast. It reminds me of my new hometown of Oakland, Oregon. Highway 101 is inland from Bandon to Port Orford but after Port Orford it hugs the coast with spectacular views. The weather is significantly warmer than yesterday and it seems to be a warmer climate zone. This area is advertised as the "banana belt" of the Oregon coast. Maybe there is some truth to that.

Highway 101 hugs the coast near Port Orford.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beach north of Port Orford.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beach at Port Orford.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I arrived at Humbug Mountain State Park at 3:30PM and debated whether or not to go farther. Laziness prevailed and I got a hiker/biker site. Each hiker/biker site is conveniently separated by blackberry bushes. I heard that the Humbug hiker/biker site isn't very nice but it seemed fine to me. It has a great view of the mountain and is separated from the drive-up sites. Highway 101 traffic noise is bad everywhere in the campground. Later in the evening a solo female touring cyclist showed up. She is an American teacher who works in London (UK).

After setting up camp I walked the trail to the beach and walked around the beach. It was sunny and the wind was relatively calm. People were actually swimming and sunning.

Beach at Humbug Mountain State Park.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Fresh water runs through the campground and on to the beach.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a while I walked back to my campsite to make dinner. Then after dinner I walked to the beach again. This is likely to be my last night on the coast so I want to see the sunset. I sat for 30 minutes waiting for the sunset. It was very pleasant with moderate temperature, light wind, and slowly fading sunshine.

Waiting for sunset at Humbug Mountain State Park.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sunset at Humbug Mountain State Park.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltLovely picture of the sunset at Humbug Mountain State Park!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago

This was an extremely short easy day, only 21.4 miles. I needed an easy day to help my sore gluteous muscle recover. The muscle feels somewhat better today but it still hurts. Overall, today was a great day with easy cycling, good weather, and many great views. It's nice to be able to slow down and not worry about deadlines, travel connections, etc.

Distance: 21.4 mi. (32.2 km)

Climbing: 787 ft. (238 m)

Average speed: 9.6 mph (15.4 km/h)

Maximum speed: 37.1 mph (59.4 km/h)

Hiking: 3 mi. (4.8 km)

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 171 miles (275 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0