Day 1: Across the Coast Range - Southwest Oregon 2005 - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2005

Day 1: Across the Coast Range

I was completely packed and had the bike ready to go the night before but I didn't get on the road until 10:30AM. Too many little house chores came to mind to help my wife take care of things while I would be gone. We were having a heat wave with high temperatures above 90F (32C) but today was cooler and cloudier with a forecast high of only 80F (27C).

My goal for the day is to cross the coast range west of Roseburg. I began by following Calapooya Creek 11 miles west until it flows into the Umpqua River. Progress was rather slow because I stopped often to take pictures, sometimes using the tripod.

Hay field west of Oakland.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rochester Covered Bridge 4 miles from my house.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View of Calapooya Creek from Rochester Covered Bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Then I went upstream (south) along the Umpqua River to the tiny town of Melrose, west of Roseburg. I passed wineries, orchards, cow pastures and hayfields along the way and saw the confluence of the North Umpqua and South Umpqua Rivers. I'll see much more of both rivers later in the tour.

Crossing the Umpqua River northwest of Roseburg.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Vineyard at the Henry Estate winery. I like their Pinot Noir.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cows rarely look at me when I stop.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I ate a late lunch at the Melrose Store/Deli, after traveling only 22 miles. After lunch I had continuous uphill for 18 miles on Flournoy Valley Road and Sitkum Road, climbing into the Coast Range with occasional sprinkles but no real rain. The scenery is excellent and the roads have no traffic. All the traffic is on Highway 42 a few miles to the south. For a portion of the climb I was going only 3 mph up a 12% grade. The summit is 2300 feet elevation, almost 1000 feet higher than the summit on Highway 42. At the summit I cross into Coos County and the paved road turned unexpectedly to gravel. The gravel road descends steeply, closely following the Middle Fork of the Coquille River. On the steep gravel I could only descend at 6-12 mph. The river drops very rapidly, sometimes appearing to be a continuous waterfall. The vegetation became more lush as I entered the 'ocean' side of the coast range. The forest has a denser understory and grass is still green (brown at my house).

High in the Coast Range.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWhat a big change for you to move from Chicago to Oregon! I'm sure you loved living in Oregon!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
The gravel road descends under a dense forest canopy.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Waterfall on the Middle Fork Coquille River.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sometimes the river seems to be a continuous waterfall.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I arrived at Frone County Park at 8:30PM. I was the only person at the campground which has basic facilities - tables, pit toilet, and a working water faucet.

The steep climb caused my right gluteous muscle to get sore. That's not good on the first day of a tour but other than that I felt fine. The campground was very quiet (almost too quiet) and there was virtually no traffic on the nearby road.

Today's route was slightly longer and had more climbing than I expected. That combined with the late start and the slow gravel descent caused me to be on the road until it was almost dark.

Total distance: 60.5 mi. (96.8 km)

Distance on gravel: 11 mi. (17.6 km)

Climbing: 3215 ft. (974 m)

Average speed: 9.3 mph (14.9 km/h)

Maximum speed: 38.0 mph (60.8 km/h)

Hiking: none

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 61 miles (98 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0