An urban interlude - Cycling “The Land Between” - CycleBlaze

An urban interlude

I passed a delightful weekend in downtown Toronto with our daughter and longtime friends.  They all live in my old neighbourhood when I was a graduate student forty years ago, so I revisited old haunts while we ate our way around the world, as one can and should in that city. 

Alan Wu of Spokewrench Cycles pronounced my Rohloff to be in good nick, and saved me the chore of flipping the sprocket, which was beginning to show some wear as it neared 11,000 kms.  I’ll replace it around the 18,000 km mark. He also recommended keeping the Easyset in my spares kit while on tour, and simply replacing the internal shifter wires when one finally breaks, rather than changing them (at, say, 20,000 or 25,000 kms) before they break. We’ll see what happens: if the 25,000 mark coincides with an end-of-season oil change, I might change the cables as a preventive measure in the comfort of my workshop.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0