Portland May 2022 - On the Ground, In the World - CycleBlaze

May 1, 2022

Portland May 2022

Stopping by Corvallis to pick up some rain gear, tie up some loose ends
Heart 0 Comment 0
Turns out the the trestle caught on fire in my absence. Cue 'this is bridge is burnt' metaphor, since this trip to Corvallis sealed the deal. I don't belong here any more and I can't come back.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Scott AndersonSo where is this? It’s since I was back also.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Evening on campus
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trees. Just trees
Heart 0 Comment 0
Alpenglow over the Willamette
Heart 2 Comment 0
They're just so darned cute in action
Heart 1 Comment 0
Postcard!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Claustrophobia? What claustrophobia? Oh, thaaat claustrophobia...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Up, periscope!
Heart 1 Comment 1
Inner workings
Heart 0 Comment 0
Portland sighting
Heart 0 Comment 0
Think I'll go slacklining. Bucket list item #29
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bike in the air on a mast. Another Portland sighting
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not alpenglow over the Willamette
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the move again
Heart 0 Comment 0
Because of course I always bring an electric kettle and my finest yi xing on the road...
Heart 1 Comment 0
And that teacup must indicate that an oolong is the order of the day...
Heart 1 Comment 0

After the better part of the year constantly moving, I needed a break and some well-needed stability in my life. I tried to do this in Las Vegas, but the meth-smoking "room" mate on the other side of the plywood made this nigh impossible. So instead of getting a break in Las Vegas, somehow I found myself in Portland, and decided to give the limbic system the mandatory downtime closer to family. Good move.

When I started this trip, I truly had no idea where I was going to end up at. I still don't. That said, when I was getting rid of all the "stuff" in my former life, people would often ask, jokingly, if I was going to end up in a Buddhist monastery. It must have been a vibe thing... they might have been joking, but I wasn't laughing. 

And somehow I ended up in a Hindu ashram in a quiet SE neighborhood in Portland, Oregon. 

Close enough. 

But even though I don't consider myself Buddhist (*way* too much focus on suffering, and you get what you focus on), after everything I've experienced on the road and in the world, I'm feeling the need to try and give the inexpressible expression. So, for the time being, 'Renegade Mystic' seems to fit that bill nicely. And I'm taking back some of the magic that my early childhood religious education tainted with that particular brand of dysfunction. It's about frickin' time.

So why am I still posting as if I'm (still) on the road? Because in my mind I am so still on the road. I haven't cooked a proper warm meal over a stove in a year, my panniers remain firmly locked on my bike, refrigerators are *so* overrated, and if it's even possible, I'm still getting rid of more stuff. Head on over to ebay if you want to buy some of my crap.

But I've been on the road long enough to know that at some point I'm going to need some long-term stability. More grounding, less roaming. More base-camp, less vagabond. More connection, less go it alone solo.

That said, I'm itching to move again. The sun is out. And another day in an expensive sun-baked west-facing room in as ashram is another day that I'm not sleeping under the stars, hearing the coyotes, and tuning myself to the cycles of the sun once again. "Sun Worshipper" comes up a strong second to "Renegade Mystic". RIP George Carlin.

And at the risk of repeating myself, I'm just as curious to see what happens next.

Peace Out for now...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Scott AndersonYou should look up Bruce and Andrea. You must be nearly neighbors now.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago