My new 9 to 5 - Om Rides To Canada - CycleBlaze

September 10, 2023

My new 9 to 5

Poughkeepsie NY to Spencerwood NY

The dawn patrol almost had more than one member this morning - but I wasn’t sure I’d be able to keep up with them so I let them go ahead.

Speed demons in the making
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

They make me look like a late riser. I was up at 630 and everyone was up and having a good time. After a delicious breakfast and last minute catching up, I got ready to set off. I got back to the trail at around 0900.

The first two hours were super casual, just riding along the trail and eating some bananas. Didn’t see anyone for long stretches. Beautiful bridge and yet another Hudson view. Notice I’ll keep going back and re crossing so you’ll get lots of bridges and Hudson pics.


Heart 1 Comment 0
Bridges are my new muse
Heart 1 Comment 0

Bridges are my new muse.

I refueled with some snacks for champions- gummy bears! Eat trash, go fast. But in this case eat trash and go party pace.

Snacks for champions
Heart 3 Comment 0
No witty comments this old miners cave is just seriously cool
Heart 2 Comment 0

Another hour on I stopped in Kingston to gather provisions for my first night of camping. I was looking forward to staying a night in the outdoors but also nervous as it’s my first time doing it solo. I’m sure it’ll be fine.

I also met this guy who is a veteran from several wars and spent a couple visits in Kashmir giving aid to both India and Pakistan. Neat.

A friendly chap
Heart 3 Comment 0

After Kingston the Empire State trail follows route 9 again and honestly it was basically a highway.

I’m surprised I didn’t get killed (or worse, expelled.) but it was well worth it when the next Hudson crossing had a physical barrier between bike and car and another spectacular view.

Heart 2 Comment 0

At this point it started raining which was pretty welcome at first for a cool down. It overstayed it’s welcome by several hours but all in all it was no downpour just sprinkles.

Due to the rain I stopped stopping for pictures for a bit. I’d also at this point hardly gone 35 miles and had 45 more I wanted to go  because I was stopping every 3 minutes. 

Unpictured, I passed through Bard College and Germantown. They had a distinct lack of bards and Germans, respectively, so you’re really not missing much.

The rain stopped around 3 and the heat started baring down. I had 3 hours to go still, most of which was a gradual climb! That’s enough complaining though so here’s some more sarcasm.

Party pace is scientifically measured in smiles per mile; here’s one for proof
Heart 2 Comment 0
This town named itself after me in honor of my arrival
Heart 2 Comment 0
Omi Art - a sculpture park that I loved from afar and wish I visited for longer
Heart 1 Comment 0

 Somewhere around this point my shifter started slipping. Lucky for me it was as simple as just tightening the thingamabob on the bar end. Good thing I bought an idiot proof bike 

Finally, one last uphill. I chanted “Type 2 fun! Type 2 fun!” Which is reminiscent of the tank engine who famously could. 

I got to my campground near Spencertown just past 530 (whoa that’s the title of the journal entry). Actually it’s the longest ride I’ve ever done in my life and it was fully loaded. 82 miles! Incredible. Exhausting. Would do it again. 

This is my first time camping solo. Why didn’t I do a shakedown ride you ask? No good reason. 

I spent 45 minutes getting camp set up - I’m hoping to get this time down with practice but it looks pretty good to me. I was quickly losing daylight so it was time to make dinner

Heart 1 Comment 0

Similar to my bike, my stove is totally idiot proof but I gave it a run for its money. I couldn’t get it to light so I texted my friend for advice and she told me I didn’t screw the canister on all the way. Nice one. I quickly made noodles under the light of a flashlight wedged under my arm.

 

Dinner of champions
Heart 1 Comment 0

Dinner of champions. I’m not gonna stop making this joke, because I am indeed a champion. Or something like that.

Okay it’s gonna rain tonight and I am so tired. Time to cozy up into the tent. Good night! 

 

An aside - my wishlist for next trip definitely includes a headlamp. That would be a good buy.

Today's ride: 83 miles (134 km)
Total: 188 miles (303 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0