Maramures and Cluj Napoca - The Long Journey East - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2022 to September 29, 2022

Maramures and Cluj Napoca

24th 

Waited for a while at the border crossing beathing in all the fumes of the cars but eventually made it through and was in Romania! After just a couple of hours I saw everything I expected, loads of stray dogs, horse and carts and old women sat outside their homes wearing head scarfs. The police didn’t like that I was heading towards the Ukrainian border, even though this was where the path was and told me I needed to go back to where I came from, a little annoying but not a huge detour.  I was forced into a slower pace once I got off the main roads onto the tracks as it doesn’t seem right speeding past the farmers on their horses through the peaceful countryside.  

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
What happened to the track?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was invited in for food with an Italian couple and felt warmed by their hospitality. Passed though a villages full of happy waving children and camped out by a quiet river. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

25th  

It was magical riding into the sunrise along a dew covered misty track next to the river. Out of the village I passed increasingly expensive villas heading into Călineşti-Oaş and saw the life of the wealthy Romanians. I spoke to a few friendly people after asking to be sprayed with a hose somone was cleaning with. Was even invited in for food but declined as I didn’t fancy riding back down the hill I just climbed to the house. Improved my sign language speaking with a very enthusiastic farmer at the bottom of the valley.  

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Stopped in Sapanta to view the famous Cimitirul vesel (The happy cemetery) and a young girl translated the happy stories on the gravestones for me. It was a nice insight into the past lives of regular people here in Maramures. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Rode on in to Sighetu Marmaței and was waved down by Florian and Daniel who invited me to join them for a drink. They were both also keen bikepackers and was great to share stories with them and get some advice for the road ahead. Daniel invited me to camp out in a small patch of land he owned too which was perfect as I was starting to worry about finding a place to sleep before dark.

Sighetu Marmaței
Heart 1 Comment 0
Daniel and Florian
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

26th 

Took some tomatoes and rosemary from Daniels garden and the long journey South beginned as I headed through the mountain ranges of the Maramures. Life is always more peaceful and simple in the mountain villages and people are generally a lot more friendly, even though they rarely speak english. Was intrigued by a huge spire in the distance so pushed my bike up the hill to see and ended up in Barsana Monastery, one of the famous wooden churches of Maramureș. There was a very special atmosphere to this place with some enchanting Romanian singing being played throughout the monastery.  

Barsana Monastery
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

A little upset when my debit card was declined in a shop so ate the last of my wraps with some tuna on a bench near the road. A woman came out dressed in traditional clothes and said something in Romanian and walked off, later returning with a platter of traditional food for me! I was delighted, although a little too heavy for me before cycling up the next pass, so I saved some for later. It turned out there was a wedding on and I watched on my bench as the festivities unfolded.  

Thank you kind stranger
Heart 1 Comment 0

The pass took a long time and I needed water to cook so headed back down to find a river where I cooked up the last of the meats into a delicious stew. A lot of indecision occurred looking for a place to camp and eventually settled behind a haystack, hoping that the farmer wouldn’t notice in the morning.  

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

27th 

Had the exact same sim card problem as in Belgium so sat outside a bar to figure out where to get a new one. I want to reduce my reliance on the phone for mapping (and everything else) and to be more immersed in the experience of traveling but I had plans to get to Cluj by sunday and the shops will be closed. Changed my route to head through Dej and had a pretty stressful day being attacked by an angry driver, chased by huge dogs and turned away by the military on a closed road. Reluctantly gave orange more money for my 5th sim card though and rode out of the city in the dark trying to relax again. Slept in a field without a tent and got soaked by the moisture in the air.   

A Romanian car park
Heart 2 Comment 0

28th 

Much better start when a lovely family gave me a packed lunch for the day. I rode though some peaceful villages and stopped off to eat the sandwiches and a man gave me some traditional Romanian pancakes (doughnuts). I wonder if I actually need to carry food anymore? 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Greasy...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Decided to stay off the main road and take a path over a hill towards the city. The climb was brutal in the mid day sun and I had to push a lot of the way because of the gravel. The decent was fun though and I found a spot behind a tree to cook up some delicious haloumi fajitas. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
The Path
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Carried on towards the city on small gravel paths, passing more chatty people and enjoying the tranquillity. Was less nice the closer I got, cycling though industrial estates and gypsy slums with angry children throwing rocks at me. 

Relieved to make it into the city I checked into a hostel (no warm showers hosts today unfortunately) and met some people staying there. Cooked up some great food with Oren from Israel and got some much needed rest 

29th  

Took a day off to explore the city and to meet lots of interesting people. Oren gave me loads of places to visit in Israel if I end up there on my trip and we also cooked up shakshouka together, I need to see if I can cook this on my camp stove as it will become a staple. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

Met a couple of other bike tourists from Germany who were celebrating the end of their trip so I joined them for a drink and to listen to their stories.  

I was joined by a dog when wandering around town who followed me for some time. Its owner eventually found it and invited me for a drink in a very cool bar and I learnt some more about the city. Later I joined Andra and Mia who I met earlier in another bar and was inspired to go to Kosovo by their official ambassador Mia.  

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 335 km (208 miles)
Total: 7,820 km (4,856 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0