Macedonia - The Long Journey East - CycleBlaze

October 20, 2022 to October 21, 2022

Macedonia

20th

 The already late start got even later when I passed 3 stray puppies, abandoned in a cardboard box outside the town. I felt bad for them and gave them food and water, even though when they grow up they'll be the ones chasing bikes. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode all day on unused quarry and farm tracks, Its a lot more fun when you have the whole road to yourself!

 Was disappointed by yet another unsuspecting bottle of salty sour yogurt disguised as milk. How many times will this happen before I learn.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another fire to fight off the chill looking over Skopje and the surrounding mountains. Don't know why I'm carrying around half a kilo of fuel too, food tastes so much better over a fire!

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

75km

21st

Cycled into Skopje in the morning, it was a shame the outskirts of the city seemed to be an unofficial landfill site with rubbish next to the road wherever you looked; not the best first impression. The centre was much more appealing, albeit pretty architecturally jumbled.

Chatted with Slavko, the owner of a souvenir shop and he told me more about the city. It turned out he was a big traveler too and has been on few bike trips.

Spent some time in the old bazar, remenance from the ottoman rule of the country. I felt like being in Istanbul again wandering around the markets and Feasting on kepabs, backlava and Turkish tea.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Didn't spend so much time on the European side of the city and would have liked to spend a day here wandering about. I did buy some winter ready (hopefully) boots with the hope I can go hiking in Kosovo without spraining my weak ankle again.

Heart 1 Comment 0

As I was getting ready to leave to Kosovo I saw two fully loaded bikes outside a cafe so I went in to meet Debby and Nick. They were traveling eastwards like me also but were returning home for the winter after Istanbul, probably a smart move but I'm still keen to carry on and see how I cope in the extreme cold. They also told me of recent conflicts in Tajikistan which could affect the route further ahead, although this isn't for a while now.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Was getting late and was just about ready to leave again after buying food when I was approached by Patrick. He was also on a long solo trip and is planning to cycle from Switzerland to Japan!

Finally left the city and found a quiet spot in the forest for a fire and rest for a big day tomorrow.

Today's ride: 120 km (75 miles)
Total: 6,425 km (3,990 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0