Holiday cards, 12/21 - The Off Season, 2022-2023 - CycleBlaze

December 21, 2022

Holiday cards, 12/21

Continuing what may become a tradition

WITH ONLY A FEW DAYS REMAINING before Christmas, there was a stack of holiday cards that needed to get into the hands of nearby friends.  What better way to get them out than to hand-deliver them?

At over 50 miles my original plan was far more ambitious than what I eventually rode, thanks to a late start.  By the time I hit the road it was already around 2:00 in the afternoon; sunset would be about 4:45, leaving too little time for me to reach the two farthest recipients before dark, so I scaled back the plan to a manageable 14 miles or so.  That left plenty of time for brief visits with my friends along the way.

Shortly after my first stop, another rider appeared in my rearview mirror so I slowed a bit to let him catch up.  It developed that he lives not far from me and was on his way home after a ride of his own, so I altered my plan to accompany him.  We enjoyed the light chitchat that so often accompanies meetings between cyclists: what are you riding, where are you headed, do you have future tours planned, and so forth.

The miles passed easily and enjoyably, and we separated with a cheery "Happy Holidays".  I continued to my final stop and visited for a few minutes then headed home, arriving just after sunset but well before dark.  It was another successful, satisfying multi-purpose ride.

Bike ridden: Serenity
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 14 miles (23 km)
Total: 42 miles (68 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0